While searching WorldCat Discovery (WCD), look for the chat icon. During library hours, clicking this link allows you to start a live chat with a librarian. Outside of library hours, you can still find help or send us a question.
While searching in WorldCat Discovery (WCD), you can use the Resources menu to navigate quickly to the library's (1) journal subscriptions in BrowZine, (2) alphabetical list of all databases, or (3) alphabetical list of all research guides.
This short video shows you how to create a personal reading list in WorldCat Discovery (WCD).
A default WorldCat Discovery (WCD) search includes physical and electronic items held by Shenandoah and other libraries.
Experienced researchers may wish to experiment with selected specific databases or groups of databases to search. In this example, the researcher has chosen to expand the Medical and Health databases group and has selected all of the databases in the group.
Note that the selection is not changed until you scroll back up and click the Save Changes button.
After entering your search, you may notice that some of the database results are broken out from the main results list. You can click any of these to explore the results within a particular database.
The document below provides shortcuts that you can enter into the basic search box to make your search more precise. For example:
A search for au:Frederick Douglass will return records in which Frederick Douglass is an author.
A search for su:Douglass, Frederick will return records in which Frederick Douglass is a subject. In the subject field, names are entered Surname, First Middle.
A search for ti:Frederick Douglass will return records in which Frederick Douglass's name is in the title.
The index b8: (location) allows you to retrieve records for specific subcollections:
Other useful indexes include bn: (ISBN), pb: (publisher), and no: (OCLC accession number).