Research Basics: Articles

Librarians recommend using databases to search for articles.

Some databases are subject-specific, like Business Source Complete or MEDLINE Ultimate. You can explore the whole list of databases, or find out which databases are recommended for your subject by visiting the library's research guide for that subject.

When you're a beginner researcher, you may find it easiest to find information on your topic a multidisciplinary database, one that covers many subjects. The video below demonstrates how to search the multidisciplinary database Academic Search Complete.

General Tips for Searching in Databases

• Use keywords instead of complete questions or sentences.
• Use quotation marks to search for phrases: "Julius Caesar" 
• Narrow your search with filters like date, source type, or subject.
• When you find a useful source, save its PDF, citation, and/or permalink right away.
• Try your search in more than one database, and keep notes on what you have tried.

Search Demonstration

This 5-minute video shows how to search for articles in Academic Search Complete.

Here are two ways to find a full-text article you want to read when you have its citation information.

1. Article Title in WorldCat Discovery

You can check for access to a complete article by searching in our library catalog, WorldCat Discovery. Enter the article's title and select the matching result.

If Shenandoah provides access to the article, you will see an option to "View Full Text" or "Access Online." When you click to access subscription resources from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your SU network account.

2. Article Identifier

LibKey Nomad Browser Plugin

For more seamless access to library resources, simply install the LibKey Nomad extension for Chrome, Firefox, or your preferred browser. Then choose Shenandoah University from the list of organizations. 

Once the plugin is installed, look for this sign when you're searching publishers' websites, PubMed, Wikipedia, and more:

Interlibrary Loan

With any of these tools, if Shenandoah's subscriptions don't provide access to the full article, you will have an option to request it through the interlibrary loan service. Learn more about interlibrary loan.