It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Multi-disciplinary collection of scholarly and research texts in the humanities.
Areas include: African, American, Asian, Latin American, Canadian, Caribbean, European (Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Modern), Middle Eastern, World/Comparative, Byzantine/Mediterranean and Australasian/Oceanian history, plus women's history, Jewish studies, history of the Native Peoples of the Americas and of Science and Technology. Other topics include archaeology, art & architectural history, dance & performance history, film & media studies, folklore, religion, musicology, and political science.
Online library of music reference sources that includes: Grove Music Online An essential source for all topics related to music and musicians. It is a comprehensive collection of the Grove Dictionary, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music. SU library also keeps older versions of the Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians in reference and circulating collections.
Doctoral dissertations and masters theses from all academic disciplines, available from universities worldwide.
Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Currently in an initial developmental phase, OpenDissertations.org includes electronic theses and dissertations metadata (full text theses and dissertations) from the British Library’s EThOS Service, the University of Florida, the University of Michigan, Michigan State University and the University of Kentucky
Finding More Print and Ebooks, Scores, Music
Search WorldCat Discovery to find books, ebooks, scores, articles, media, and more. You can find what's available at SU and items from other libraries worldwide that you can request through interlibrary loan.
Basic Verbal Skills for Music Therapists by Elizabeth K. SchwartzContents: Communication, music, and verbal expression -- Verbalization in music therapy literature -- Words and music in music therapy scope of practice -- Words in music therapy levels of practice -- Words and music as agents of change -- Client needs and verbalization in music therapy -- Verbal skills basics for music therapists -- Verbal framing -- Verbal exchanges -- Verbal interactions -- Verbal interventions -- Understanding words through music -- Understanding music through words -- Final words.
Publication Date: 2019
How Music Helps by Gary AnsdellHow Music Helps is not just a book about music therapy. It has the more ambitious aim to promote (from a music therapist's perspective) a better understanding of 'music and change' in our personal and social life. Ansdell's theoretical synthesis links the tradition of Nordoff-Robbins music therapy and its recent developments in Community Music Therapy to contemporary music sociology and music studies.This book will be relevant to practitioners, academics and researchers looking for a broad-based theoretical perspective to guide further study and policy in music, well-being, and health.
Publication Date: 2014
Advanced Methods of Music Therapy Practice by Nicki S. CohenAnalytical Music Therapy, The Bonny Method of Guided Imagery and Music, Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy, and Vocal Psychotherapy are commonly studied and in conjunction with music therapy. This book examines the development of these four advanced methods of music therapy practice in relation to each other, and explores their impact on the development of the music therapy profession.
Publication Date: 2017
Pediatric Music Therapy by Wanda B. Lathom-RadocyThe book includes relevant medical, psychological, and developmental information to help service providers and parents to understand children with disabilities. In this revised edition, the author has updated or eliminated some of the medical information and added more related music therapy literature.