Research Guides: Music: Audio &amp; Video Recordings

SU Libraries Collections

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of classical, jazz, world, and other music recordings. Mobile app available.
Naxos Music Library - Jazz This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online jazz recording collection. Mobile app available.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of full-length Metropolitan Opera performances
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Award-winning productions essential to the study of Drama, Theatre and Performance, with accompanying interviews, essays, and expert insights.

Mobile Apps

Naxos is available for mobile devices. More information on the library's Mobile Apps guide.

Physical Collection

Circulating audio and video recordings are located on the lower level of Smith Library and can be checked out by SU faculty and students.

Browse CDs at Smith Library

Recordings from the Shenandoah Conservatory are available only by appointment. Use this link to schedule an appointment with Kathy Evans, Reference & Archives Librarian.

Free Recordings Online

All of Bach This project of the Netherlands Bach Society aims to provide high-quality recordings of the works of Johann Sebastian Bach.
Classical Connect Free classical music site
Early Music Recordings | Yale University A list maintained by librarians at Yale University Libraries.
Early Music Radio & Streaming | Early Music America An archive compiled through user submissions.
Matt Johnson Music Collection Matt Johnson graciously offered the SU Community access to this collection in perpetuity once downloaded. Files in the Collection include PDF scores and audio files from 50+ recordings, as well as many unpublished works. Categories include Piano Music, Choral Works, Handbell Pieces, Vocal Songs, and Arrangements.
National Jukebox Historical Recordings 1901 - 1925, maintained by the Library of Congress.
Global Jukebox "The Global Jukebox is a growing space to connect with our deep heritage through the expressive arts of singing, dancing, and conversing from around the world."
Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project A collection of historical music available for streaming and download from the University of California, Santa Barbara.
The Monterey Jazz Festival Collection The festival's archive - preserved by the Stanford University Archive of Recorded Sound - contains recordings of live festival performances throughout the history of this enduring American cultural institution.
Riverwalk Jazz From Stanford University. Two channels of almost 400 hours of streamed early jazz repertoire performed by the Jim Cullen Jazz Band and guest artists. Site also includes program notes, photo gallery, and essays.
Archival Sound Recordings Digital access to selected recordings from the British Library Sound Archive. Researchers can search all recordings on the site, listen to recordings where copyright permits.
Internet Archive Music and Arts Collection The audio Music collection features nearly 600 virtual record labels found in the Netlabels collection, the unique contemporary compositions and performances found in the Other Minds collection, and the hundreds of popular songs from the early 20th Century found in the 78 RPM collection.
The Spirituals Database Searchable access to recorded track information for over 3,200 Negro Spiritual settings performed by solo classical vocalists.
NPR Music National Public Radio interviews, profiles, videos, tiny desk concerts, and other performances.
Turning the Tables: The 150 Greatest Albums Made by Women | NPR "This list, of the greatest albums made by women between 1964 and present (2017) is an intervention, a remedy, a correction of the historical record. It rethinks popular music to put women at the center." Most songs can be found on Naxos, Naxos Jazz, YouTube, Spotify, Pandora, or AllMusic.

Music: Audio & Video Recordings

SU Libraries Collections

Mobile Apps

Physical Collection

Free Recordings Online

Paid Streaming Services