Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Shenandoah University

Faculty Information: Research Support

We're here to help!

Who We Are

Librarians at Smith Library and the Health Sciences Information Center provide reference and research assistance to students, faculty, and staff.


Meghan Davitt
Health Sciences Librarian
(540) 678-4351
mdavitt@su.edu
Kathy Evans
Reference & Instruction Librarian
(540) 665-5421
kevans1@su.edu
Aimee Gee
Reference & Online Learning Librarian
(540) 665-4553
agee@su.edu
Andy Kulp
Interim Director
Reference & Information Literacy Librarian
(540) 665-5444
akulp@su.edu

Not sure whom to contact? Please use the Research Consultation Form to tell us about your needs.

How We Can Help

  • Locating information and accessing materials
  • Navigating databases and other resources
  • Identifying important publications in your field
  • Using reference management tools to organize and cite your sources
  • Describing engagement with your work using metrics

We're happy to explore new ways of collaborating with you.

Publication Support

BrowZine and SJR

Individual Journals

When you look up a particular journal in BrowZine, you will see its SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) next to its title.

SJR screenshot

Clicking through to the SJR site will reveal more metrics about the journal, including its H index. (Both the SJR and the H index are defined here.)

Rankings by Subject

When browsing journals by subject in BrowZine, you can sort the results by rank rather than by title.

sort journals by rank screenshot


CWTS Journal Indicators

The Leiden University Centre for Science and Technology (CWTS) calculates and provides free access to their own journal metrics. Like the SJR numbers included in BrowZine, these rankings are based on the publication information available in the Scopus database.

However, CWTS provides SNIP (source normalized impact per paper) indicators that allow more accurate comparisons between publications in different fields of study. (Read more about the methodology here.)

Generate a list of journals by selecting a main area and sub-area.  


Google Scholar Metrics

Google Scholar Metrics provide rankings of top publications over the last five years.

In addition to viewing the list of the top 100 journals in all fields, you can browse publications in broad areas of research (e.g., Health & Medical Sciences) and subcategories (e.g., Rehabilitation Therapy).

Rankings are determined according to each publication's h5-index and h5-median, defined here.

ORCID logo

Because an ORCID identifier is unique and persistent , it provides an easy way to distinguish yourself from other people with similar names and to guarantee that you will get credit for your work. A few things to know:


google scholar logo

Google Scholar profile is a very simple way of collating your publications (and citations to them) so that others can find your work and often find an accessible copy that they can read. See example profiles from Shenandoah University researchers.

If you have a free Google account, setting up a profile is quick and easy. Just visit the site and click "My Profile" to register and start adding your publications. Once you have set up the profile, you can choose automatic updates so you don't need to spend a lot of time updating your publications list.


Impact Story logo

Impactstory is a tool that allows you to promote, manage, and share your research and scholarship. Sign up with your Twitter account or ORCID researcher ID, and add items to your profile using your ORCID, your Google Scholar Profile, or DOIs and PubMed IDs.

Impactstory gathers information about interactions with your work from many sources. You can receive a weekly email report of "new research impacts" (example here) and use your Impactstory profile as an alternative to a static online CV (example profile here).


Want to learn more?

Explore the Metrics Toolkit to learn what various metrics mean and how they can help you track and discuss engagement with your work.

Copyright provides the default rules regarding the ownership and use—copying, distribution, and preparation of derivative works—of creative works. The typical publication process involves the transfer of copyright ownership from the author to the publisher, at least temporarily.

As an author, you can negotiate publication agreements that allow you to retain control of how you and others may use your work in future, even when you publish in traditional journals.

Resources

Scholar's Copyright Addendum Engine
Generate a PDF form that you can attach to a journal publisher's copyright agreement to ensure that you retain certain rights.

SHERPA/RoMEO
A searchable database of publishers' standard permissions and copyright transfer agreements.

Creative Commons
Learn about the various Creative Commons licenses often used for OA publishing.

OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories)
An authoritative directory of academic open access repositories where you can deposit and share your work.

Directory of Open Access Journals
Approximately 16,000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, and the humanities.

How Open Is It? Open Access Spectrum - PLOS, SPARC & OASPA
This guide describes the levels of openness within OA to help you make informed decisions about where to publish.

Discounts from VIVA

While SU Libraries itself do not have funding to cover article processing charges (APCs) for authors publishing open access journals, VIVA, the Virginia Academic Library Consortium, offers discounts and funding to help defray such costs.

Visit this page to learn more about the agreements with Wiley, the American Chemical Society (ACS), and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). (Note that the Wiley agreement was put on hold during the pandemic, but a new agreement is in place for 2022-2024.)

Locate APC-Free Journals