Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fake News Research Guide
"Recap: Gravity Falls "Headhunters", (2015). newtcave.blogspot.com
Data, Background Info, & Report Websites
An important facet of fact-checking is knowing where to find accurate information. The sites below are generally trustworthy on a wide range of topics.
An easier-to-use U.S. Census-powered site that provides access to data about the United States
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Check BLS announcements or set up an email alert for new reports.
CIA World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
A huge database covering all sorts of indicators for EU Member States and candidate countries. Most of the data sets are submitted to Eurostat from national statistical authorities.
Google News Lab
Verification tools, image searching, geosearching and more.
IMF World Economic Outlook
Economic and financial data for countries around the world and predictions for the years ahead. Updated twice a year, in April and October.
The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit that was founded to build an internet library. It includes texts, audio, moving images and software as well as archived web pages (The Wayback Machine), the TV Political Internet Archive, and more.
IPU Parline Database
Data on Parliaments around the world including date of election, structure, composition, gender balance.
National Health Interview Survey
NHIS data on a broad range of health topics, collected through personal household interviews. Survey results have been instrumental in providing data to track health status, health care access and progress toward achieving national health objectives.
National Security Archive
Research on world affairs; declassified documents on security issues around the world.
Where the money's going and where it's coming from in U.S. elections.
A searchable index of websites that have been reviewed for quality and credibility.
Data on military spending, arms transfers.
Storyful's Chrome Extension
A way to quickly query keywords across Twitter, YouTube, Tumblr, Instagram and Spokeo.
U.S. Customs and Immigration
Yearly “snapshots” of agency activities, statistics on “unaccompanied alien children,” “Use of Force” reports and more.
The World Bank's statistics on key economic and social indicators for most countries in the world, presented with plenty of metadata and options for visualization.
World Health Organization
The data repository contains statistics on tuberculosis, child mortality rates, tobacco control and more, in six languages.