Library Guides: Music: Scores

Tell us what you think

Nkoda
Choose Sign up with your Institution for access. Sheet music subscription service that can be accessed via app on your phone, tablet, or desktop.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library v. 4 & 5
Digital access to in-copyright scores, many from the 20th and 21st centuries
Art Song Transpositions
Print and download official, licensed scores of art songs and arias in various keys. ("Request New Repertoire" is not included in this subscription).

Place titles or phrases within quotation marks: “Moonlight Sonata”
Pluralize genre forms: symphonies, nocturnes
Search for full works: Hamilton rather than “The Room Where it Happens”
Use uniform titles: Symphonies, no. 5, op. 67, C minor rather than fifth symphony
Follow composer, subject, instrumentation, or genre links within a catalog record to find related works

Library of Congress Music Classifications
This two-page guide to music call numbers can help you browse for print scores on the lower level of Smith Library.

The Public Domain Song Anthology by David Berger; Chuck Israels
an open access collection of 348 popular songs with modern and traditional harmonization for both study and performance

IPA Source
International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts

LiederNet Archive
Archive of texts and translations of art songs and choral works.
The Aria Database
Translations of arias and aria texts; includes operatic sound files.

Edwin A. Fleisher Collection of Orchestral Music
The world’s largest circulating collection of orchestral performance sets. The lending service is available to music organizations upon receipt of request.
New York Public Library Orchestra Collection