Research Guides: Political Science: Websites

Evaluating Websites

Researchers generally use websites in two ways:

Research artifact -- Something you're writing about or using as an example. Any website can be used.
Research source -- Primary or secondary sources that support or anchor your claims. Use only trustworthy, authoritative sites.

Your argument is only as credible as your sources.

Introducing SIFT
A printable handout from SU libraries about Mike Caulfield's SIFT strategy for verifying news
Consider the Source (handout)
A printable handout from SU Libraries with questions to consider about sources for research projects

General Sources

National Archives and Records Administration a federal agency charged with the preservation and access to historical documents, including the Declaration of Independence and the Emancipation Proclamation
Center for American Women and Politics promoting greater understanding and knowledge about women's participation in politics and government
American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) "the nation's foremost advocate of individual rights -- litigating, legislating, and educating the public on a broad array of issues affecting individual freedom in the United States"
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities "a national authority on policy issues impacting primarily lower-income individuals and families"
State and Local Government on the Net "provides convenient one-stop access to the websites of thousands of state agencies and city and county governments"
Brookings Institution a think tank dedicated to improving government policies in economics, foreign policy, and other areas

Congress

U.S. Congressional Record Official recordings of Congressional sessions, including speeches, debates, etc.
Congress.gov the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service.
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress the primary source for biographical information on Members of the United States Congress and Continental Congresses
Statutes at Large the laws of the first forty-two Congresses, 1789-1873
Public and Private Laws slips laws, official publications of the law and admissible in all state and Federal courts and tribunals of the United States, dating back to 1995
The United States Code Courtesy of the Office of Law Revision Counsel - "The Office of the Law Revision Counsel prepares and publishes the United States Code, which is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States."
Code of Federal Regulations "The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis."
The Federal Register "Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents"

The Presidency

The White House The official site
Presidents of the United States (POTUS) information on all presidents, including election results, cabinet members, notable events, links to biographies and more, created by Robert Summers

Law and the Courts

The Supreme Court Database The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.
The Supreme Court of the United States Official site
FedLaw designed as a research tool for Federal lawyers and other Federal employees
FindLaw free guide to US case law, law codes, law review articles, legal news, lawyers
History of the Federal Judiciary includes judges biographies, important judicial legislation, selected topics in judicial history, and a photographic exhibit, courtesy of the Federal Judicial Center

Elections

Open Secrets A watchdog group founded by the Center for Responsive Politics and the National Institute on Money in Politics
Commission on Presidential Debates offers full texts of most Presidential debates of the last 50 years
Project Vote Smart non-partisan information on issues and candidates on the national, regional, and local levels, particularly non-incumbents in local and region campaigns
Roper Center located at the Cornell University, the largest library of public opinion data in the world
Real Clear Politics one of America’s premier independent political websites, updated daily

International Affairs

CIA -The World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Information on countries and other world entities

Council on Foreign Relations An independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher. Providing up-to-date information and analysis about world events and American foreign policy.
Foreign Affairs Magazine The leading magazine for analysis and debate of foreign policy, economics and global affairs. Full access is available through the library's subscription.
Amnesty International Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 7 million people who take injustice personally. We are campaigning for a world where human rights are enjoyed by all.
Europa The official website of the European Union
U.S. Department of State provides information ranging from arms control, to Latin America to tourism