There are many ways to research a work of literature. You might look for information about:
Use online encyclopedias and other reference books to start your research with an overview of your topic and suggestions for further reading.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This full-text resource contains the entire text of the 22-volume Oxford English Dictionary, second edition. It provides definitions, pronunciations and the history of each word with examples from literary sources.
Providing clear and concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms, the bestselling Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms is an essential reference tool for students of literature in any language. Now expanded and in its fourth edition.
This volume examines key works of the African-American civil rights debate past and present, and it explores issues of gender equality and sexual orientation integral to civil rights studies. A good starting point for students seeking an introduction to the theme and the critical discussions surrounding it.
Get the most out of reading with this an engaging and fun guide to the themes, symbols, forms, context, and literary devices in great works of literature.
This set treats the whole of American literature, from the European discovery of America to the present, with entries in alphabetical order. Each of the 350 substantive essays is a major interpretive contribution.
From folk ballads to film scripts, this new five-volume encyclopedia covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.