Research Guides: Film & Media Studies: Film & Footage

Archival Footage

Internet Archive Wayback Machine
Times Machine (NYT Archive) Over 150 years of New York Times journalism, as it originally appeared. If it asks for a login, sign up for a free account through SU's New York Times subscription.
LOC American Memory
Google Advanced Video Search Search .edu and .gov domains for better results.
Digital Public Library of America
Open Vault: WGBH Media Library and Archives Public TV archives
AP Archive 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.
Internet Archive: TV News
Videvo Royalty-free stock video
Mazwai Stock Footage
LOC National Screening Room Streaming media from the Library of Congress: Newsreels, fiction, silent, "talkies," and more. Mostly early 20th century.
Prelinger Archives Free online repository of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films in the public domain.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting 40,000 hours of public broadcasts of national and local TV news, entertainment, arts, and more.

Finding Photos & Images

Wikimedia Commons
Openverse (Formerly Creative Commons Search) Search for public domain images and audio.
flickr
Google Advanced Image Search Under "usage rights," select Creative Commons.
Getty Open Content images of artworks from the J. Paul Getty Museum available for free download under Creative Commons Zero (CC0)
Library of Congress Photos, Prints, Drawings You won't find images for every topic here but what is available is good.
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1925 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Internet Archive Wayback Machine

Streaming Video

SU Subscription Databases

These are free to watch and to show in class.

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos including educational films, archival footage, and newsreels in most subject areas
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window Streaming videos covering most academic subjects
- This link opens in a new window
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming video of full-length Metropolitan Opera performances
- This link opens in a new window

Online Streaming Services

Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, etc. require personal subscriptions and are usually restricted by license to personal, not classroom viewing. Sites like Tubi are free, but may also be protected by restrictive licenses.

Crackle "Hollywood movies for free-uncut and unedited. From your favorite genres like Action, Horror, Sci-Fi, Crime and Comedy."
Open Culture "1,150 Free Movies Online: Great Classics, Indies, Noir, Westerns, etc."
Tubi Free online streaming movies and TV
YouTube Worth checking. You just never know...
Public Domain Movies
Pluto TV Free streaming TV and movies.

Local Public Libraries

Handley Regional Library Winchester's public library offers hundreds of movies on Blu-ray, DVD, and streaming platforms. SU students can register for a free library card.
Hoopla
Included with Handley Library card. FREE streaming movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows!

Is it Streaming?

Use these websites to find streaming movies and TV shows.