Use online encyclopedias and other reference books to start your research with an overview of your topic and suggestions for further reading.
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation
Thoroughly revised and updated to include the latest research in the field, A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment - its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories.Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, it is at the cutting edge of environmental and conservation studies.This is the ideal reference for students studying these subjects and anyone with an interest in environment and conservation.
Keywords for Environmental Studies
Analyzes the central terms and debates currently structuring the most exciting research in and across environmental studies, including the environmental humanities, environmental social sciences, sustainability sciences, and the sciences of nature.
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology
This superb and highly-acclaimed dictionary includes over 4000 in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental protection and resource management.
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
The third edition contains nearly 800 alphabetically arranged articles. They cover a wide variety of topics, including endangered animal species, air pollution, national parks, environmental legislation, oil spills, alternative energy sources, and global climate change. In recognition of the fact that people spend an overwhelming proportion of their time in human-made environments, essays also cover such topics as sick building syndrome, noise pollution, smog, and urban planning.
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health, Second Edition presents the newest release in this fundamental reference that updates and broadens the umbrella of environmental health - especially social and environmental health - for its readers.
This link opens in a new window
American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present by
A comprehensive and diverse, award-winning collection of biographies of the most important figures in American environmentalism. As our environment changes, and environmental concerns become more and more prevalent, this encyclopedia provides much-needed information on the key players in the environmental movement.
This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics
The second edition of this Handbookcontains more than 30 new and original articles as well as six essential updates by leading scholars of global environmental politics. This landmark book maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this energetic and growing field.
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Presents essays that cover topics in the fields of environmental philosophy and ethics, including green chemistry, urban environments, desertification, vegetarianism, animal ethics, and waste management.