Research Guides: Chemistry: Websites

Open Resources

Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Research and development results and scientific and technical information from 13 federal agencies

CASSI Search Tool
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information. Use this free tool to quickly identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Chemical, physical & spectroscopic data of many chemical substances. Includes IR, NMR, MS, UV, thermochemical data for substances & reactions, etc. Searchable by structure, formula, and property values. Compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS
Free database of chemical spectra. IR, MS, NMR spectra. Organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

ChemCollective The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities for individuals or teams. Students can review and learn chemistry concepts using our virtual labs, simulations, and tutorials. The ChemCollective is organized by a group of faculty and staff at Carnegie Mellon who are interested in using, assessing, and creating engaging online activities for chemistry education.
Chemistry Commons With over 225 institutions contributing, this segment of the Digital Commons network provides over 20,000 full-text articles in chemistry related subjects.
National Science Digital Library Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted to provider site membership, or may have a cost associated with them (indicated in the full record of the resource).
Peer J PeerJ publishes the world's scientific knowledge through open access licensing. 3,663 peer-reviewed articles and 3,917 preprints since 2013.
Physical Sciences and Mathematics Commons With over 340 institutions contributing, this segment of the Digital Commons network provides over 150,000 full-text articles in the physical sciences and mathematics subjects.

Associations

American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC) The American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC) is a global scientific and medical professional organization dedicated to clinical laboratory science and its application to healthcare. Our leadership in education, advocacy and collaboration helps lab professionals adapt to change and do what they do best: provide vital insight and guidance so patients get the care they need.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, we are the world’s largest scientific society. Our mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people. Our vision is to improve people’s lives through the transforming power of chemistry.
American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) AIChE is the world's leading organization for chemical engineering professionals, with more than 60,000 members from more than 110 countries.
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology is an international nonprofit scientific and educational organization. With over 11,000 members, made up of students, researchers, educators and industry professionals, the ASBMB is one of the largest molecular life science societies in the world. Founded in 1906, the ASBMB’s mission is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology and to promote the understanding of the molecular nature of life processes. The society serves the scientific community through:
Biochemical Society The Biochemical Society promotes the future of molecular biosciences; facilitating the sharing of expertise, supporting the advancement of biochemistry and molecular biology, and raising awareness of their importance in addressing societal grand challenges.