Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Shenandoah University

Mobile Apps: Health Sciences

Use library resources on your phone or tablet.

Clinical Database Apps

DynaMed logoDynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point of care. The DynaMed app is free with every subscription and is compatible with iOS and Android devices.

After installing the app, you can log in with your SU network credentials while your device is connected to SU's Wi-Fi. This type of login must be renewed every 3 months.

Alternatively, you can log in with a Personal User Account. Don’t have a Personal Account? Create one by accessing DynaMed Plus through the SU LIbraries link and then selecting the Sign In link in the top right-hand corner of the screen.


UpToDate logoUpToDate is a practical clinical reference tool that provides quick access to synthesized medical information. 

You can connect to UpToDate on your mobile device without downloading anything at all. The responsive website design adapts to the size of your screen. If you prefer, you can download the UpToDate app for iOS or Android, but you will need to create a personal account before using it.

Personal Account (optional)

When you first connect to UpToDate in a browser, you may be prompted to create a personal account. Current practitioners may find a personal account useful, and personal accounts are necessary for logging into the UpToDate app. Otherwise, most users should skip this step and continue to the search screen. Personal accounts must be renewed every 90 days.

Drug Information Apps

LexiComp logoLexicomp provides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools.

Pharmacy students and faculty will want to download the Lexicomp app for iOS or Android and follow the prompts on this page. The Lexicomp mobile app support page provides more information but may not be up to date.


IBM Micromedex Drug Ref logoMicromedex Solutions includes a wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.

To use Micromedex on your mobile device, download the app for iOS or Android. To find the most up to date passwords for the Micromedex Apps, go through the library's Pharmacy Drug Information page and click on the Micromedex link. On the Micromedex page, click on the Mobile Application Access link in the upper right corner. Then choose the Micromedex Native Mobile Apps on the next page. The list of each app and it's login information will be there.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

PubMed logoMobile Site

The PubMed site now offers a new responsive experience on any size screen. Intensive users will want to use the site in conjunction with their My NCBI login. For casual users, the library recommends installing the LibKey Nomad browser extension to show links to full text content from SU's subscriptions. 

App for iOS

PubMed on Tap Lite logoPubMed On Tap Lite for iOS devices also allows you to search PubMed and retrieve, e-mail, or store references and articles in your personal library.

After you download the app, open it and go to settings. Make sure Check for Full Text is turned on. Then select Library Proxy and enter https://suproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

AccessMedicine

Access Medicine logoGet mobile access to more than 170 textbooks in basic and clinical sciences through the AccessMedicine app.

1. Use the library's link to the AccessMedicine database.

2. Sign up for a personal MyAccess profile by clicking Shenandoah University in the upper right corner and choosing "Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile" from the drop-down menu. 

3. Install the AccessMedicine app for your iOS or Android device, then log in to your MyAccess account.

Your MyAccess account will need to be renewed every 90 days by signing in to the database with your SU credentials.