The principal source for mobile apps is likely to be Apple's App Store, linked from your iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch. Many apps are free, though some apps have versions with more extensive features that can be downloaded for a nominal fee. Other apps are available directly from the vendor that developed them.
Several repositories exist for Android apps. A popular one is Google Play.
Many websites are now optimized for mobile devices and no longer require a special app or mobile site.
Zotero for Mobile: Visit Zotero.org for resources available for mobile devices.
Papership for Mendeley and Zotero: Ths free reference manager app works with both Zotero and Mendeley. Free from Apple's App store.
Diigo Browser: Diigo offline Reader lets you save websites, search and browse your Diigo library, and download files for offline browsing. Download from App Store for free.
Evernote: Not a citation manager, but a tool to take text notes, capture photos, manage audio clips. An award-winning tool and it is free. Download from the App Store.
AccessMedicine: A free app is now available for this database. Create an individual account with this database to access their mobile options.
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool for health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care' level. Access Dynamed through the library databases and download the app through their site.
Up-To-Date provides a practical clinical reference tool designed to provide quick access to synthesized medical information.
Creating a personal account is optional. After connecting to UpToDate, click the login link on the top right of the screen and then create or enter your UpToDate username and password. These credentials are not the same as one's SU network login.
If your personal account has lapsed: To regain access to UpToDate, including mobile and remote access, please take a moment to re-verify your affiliation with Shenandoah University. Personal accounts have to be renewed every 90 days. A link to the mobile app is at the bottom of the page.
Lexi-Comp: Pharmacy students and faculty will want to download this app to access Lexi-comp. Free through Apple's App Store and Google Play.
Micromedex Solutions includes a wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. To access Micromedex mobile applications, see these instructions.
Pubmed on Tap: Works well for accessing PubMed online. $2.99 from the App store, but a free version shows just 10 references at a time. Can be set for proxy access to full text.
For Android devices try PubMed Mobile available on Google Play
ACS Mobile: provides users with a multi-journal live stream of new peer reviewed research content published by the American Chemical Society. Free from the App Store.
Naxos Music Library: The NML app provides access to more than 50,000 CDs Content can be streamed to your iPad, iPhone, or iPod Touch. Create and share playlists. Free app for access to SU's Naxos account.
Naxos Music Library Jazz: The NMLjazz app provides access to more than 5,000 CDs Content can be streamed to your iPad, iPhone, or iPod Touch. Create and share playlists. Free app for access to SU's Naxos Jazz account.
WEPA Print: For a student, what could be of greater utility than the WEPA Print app? This free app lets you open and print Word and PDF documents from your iPhone, iPad or Android device to any of the WEPA print kiosks on campus. Available for both iOS and Android devices.
BrowZine: This is an app that enables you to browse our library's scholarly e-journal content by creating a table of contents for each journal, with links to the PDF full text. A web-based version of BrowZine can be found on the library website or from this link:
For more information about the app, see our Research Guide: Browzine.
Ebscohost: The Ebscohost app is the most useful general app for accessing library databases. This app can be downloaded from the App Store, but IPad and iPod user can follow the link on the bottom of any Ebscohost page to receive instructions to download the app, which must be activated according to Ebsco's instructions. All Ebsco databases are optimized for mobile devices.