Skip to main content

Biology Resources at Shenandoah University: Books and E-books

Need Help? We make your research easier.

We will: 

  • Save you time
  • Help you find the best materials
  • Help you become a better researcher 
    _______________________________

  • Rosemary Green, Graduate Programs Librarian - 540-665-4634 OR rgreen@su.edu
  • David McKinney, Librarian for Public Services at 540-665-5444 OR dmckinne@su.edu       
  • Cindy Thomas, Reference Librarian at 540-665-5421 OR cthomas@su.edu 
  • Denise Blake, Health Sciences Librarian at 540-678-4350 OR dblake@su.edu

Sample Titles

Help Finding Books

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) - brings together a variety of resources from across a broad range of University databases using a familiar and easy to use interface.  A single search allows you to find digital and print books, journal articles, scores, digital music collections (Naxos), images (ARTstor), dissertations and theses, videos, and much more.  Provides access to millions of articles and tens of thousands of books. 

WebCat - is the database used to locate print books and other non-digital materials owned by the Shenandoah University Libraries.  WebCat "Power Search" allows you to limit to by location (Reference Area for example), by language, publication date etc.  The WebCat Quick Reference Guide - provides easy to use sample searches and help for learning how to use SU's online catalog.  Look at example three under "Power Search" to learn how to limit your search to location "Reference area."

WorldCat - contains records of over 179 million items (January 2014) in over 400 languages from 60,000 participating libraries around the world.  As you might expect, most records are of books, but you will find records of any conceivable item a library might own including audio and video recordings, computer programs, archival materials, maps, musical scores and more.  Some items in this database date to before 1,000 B.C. Approximately one million items are being added annually, and WorldCat is updated daily.  (remote access requires username and password)

ebrary - fulltext of over 87,000 electronic books covering all subjects.  NOTE - the fulltext of all of these titles will be available when you use WebCat, but ebrary is a great option if you are off campus

Dissertations and Theses "ProQuest Dissertations and Theses — Full text is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
More than 70,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program."