Research Guides: Biology & Life Sciences: Article Databases

Search Tips

Simple Search Documentation
A template for keeping track of your search history and results

National Agricultural Library SEARCH This link opens in a new window
Research publications on agriculture, nutrition, and environmental sciences from the National Agricultural Library (includes AGRICOLA)
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly publications in environmental sciences and allied fields, with some full text
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Research and development results and scientific and technical information from 13 federal agencies
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles from journals in health and life sciences and social and behavioral sciences
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly and professional journal articles in health and life sciences

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly and professional journals in all disciplines
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A Google search tool for scholarly articles and books, with links to some full text
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines
Oxford University Press (OUP) Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles in many subjects
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Now including Consumer Insights! Quantitative data and data visualizations on media, business, finance, politics, and other topics

Example: Original research
Transcriptome profile analysis reveals specific signatures of pollutants in Atlantic eels.
doi.org/10.1007/s10646-014-1356-x
Example: Review Article
Impact of chemical pollution on Atlantic eels: Facts, research needs, and implications for management.
doi.org/10.1016/j.coesh.2019.06.008.

Ulrich's Periodical Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for a journal (not article) title. A small referee jersey will indicate that the journal is peer-reviewed.

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article | Arizona State University
An interactive introduction to the standard parts of a scholarly journal article.

Image credit: IJCTA Peer Review