Skip to main content

Political Science: Database Articles

Multidisciplinary Databases for Finding Political Science Articles and Other Resources

Congressional Quarterly  (CQ) Researcher - weekly issues of CQ Researcher cover a topic of current interest to the American public and to Congress.  Reading one of these 20 to 25 page articles will provide one with the history of an issue as well as providing current context, and future prospects. These reports are most useful as background information.

CQ Weekly - non-partisan coverage of Congress

JSTOR  - an archive of scholarly journals providing the fulltext (PDF) of hundreds of  journals from all disciplines.  Coverage extends back decades for many titles, but most have a "moving wall" which blocks access to the most recent articles.  (remote access requires username and password)

Project Muse  - this full-text resource provides access to approximately 45 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics. (remote access requires username and password)

Oxford University Press Journals Online - this full-text resource provides access to 120 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and mathematics. (remote access requires username and password)

Academic Search Complete -a "leading resource for scholarly research with more full-text journals and more peer-reviewed journals than any other database available. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books, and more."

Legal Information & Government Documents

Databases for Finding Newspaper Articles

Academic Search Complete - a  multi-disciplinary full-text database, featuring both scholarly and popular periodicals with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals.  Indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and nearly 12,000 total publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  (remote access requires username and password)

MasterFILE Premier - provides fulltext from more than 1,750 general interest magazines and journals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 650 more.  Additionally there is fulltext of 500 reference books like almanacs and dictionaries, 86,000 fulltext biographical sketches of contemporary and historical figures, nearly 300,000 pictures.