It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Theatre+ provides access to award-winning productions essential to the study of Drama, Theatre and Performance. Plus, with accompanying interviews, essays, and expert insights from practitioners, artists, technicians and scholars, you can gain front row access to the theatre-making process.
500+ HD-quality films of star-studded, classical, contemporary and international productions. (RSC, BroadwayHD, Shakespeare's Globe, West End, Gecko Theatre and more!) 13,000+ written study guides, essays, research materials, performance studies and workshop programs, all designed by industry experts and leading academics. 600+ interviews with academics & practitioners focused on everything from acting to directing, lighting design to stage management. All of the roles within the industry are offered!
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Dennis Kennedy (Editor)The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance is an unparalleled resource, providing comprehensive, authoritative, and up-to-date information about theatre and performance internationally, through history and in the present in an accessible format. Available in print and as an e-referencetext from Oxford's Digital Reference Shelf, the 4,300 entries total well over a million words and are complemented by over 100 illustrations. Coverage ranges from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. The Encyclopedia pays specialattention to non-Western styles through articles on theatre and performance throughout the many countries and traditions of Asia and Africa, often written by practitioners or critics from those areas. Dance, opera, performance art, radio, film, and television are covered at length. The Encyclopediaalso embraces para-theatrical, non-drammatic, and popular performance, including ritual, carnivals, parades, the circus, and public executions. Biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures from the past and present: actors, playwrights, directors, designers, and critics. Innovativeentries on cities and regions place performance in its local social and political context.A particular feature of the Encyclopedia is the series of entries on concepts, theories, and critical approaches to theatre and performance, from short definitions of terms to lengthy considerations of genres, and from detailed discussion of movements such as feminism and psychoanalytic criticism todiscussions of semiotics and post-colonial studies. While remaining thoroughly accessible in language and approach, the Encyclopedia takes advantage of the theoretical and historiographical developments in the field, using signed entries by the best scholars and writers available.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2003
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Full TextThis link opens in a new windowAvailable from EBSCO, this resource offers a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.