Research Guides: Languages & Cultural Studies: French

Books

Subjects to browse

Combine the name of a country or region with a term such as history, politics and government, social conditions, economic conditions, intellectual life, religion, art, music, literature, dance, and theater.

French-English Visual Dictionary

HarperCollins Robert French Dictionary

The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French

Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary

A Brief History of France

News Sources in French

News and Newspapers: French
Links to news sources by country, provided by MIT Libraries

Article Databases

Vente et Gestion This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on business and related subjects from scholarly and professional journals in French
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly and professional journals in all disciplines
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for scholarly articles and books in the study of literature, language, folklore, and film, with some full text, plus the MLA Directory of Periodicals
Clase and Periódica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to Latin American scholarly journal articles in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English

Journals

Videos

Academic Video Online: French
Films and videos in French
Films on Demand: French
Includes videos on French Culture & History, French Language, and French Literature & Drama