Research Guides: History: Article Databases

History Databases

Cambridge Core Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, STEM fields, and medicine
European Views of the Americas 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of European publications related to the exploration and colonization of the Americas
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to law journals, U.S. government publications, case law, treaties, and more
Humanities and Social Science Retrospective 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly articles in the social sciences and humanities, 1907-1984
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and some full-text for scholarly journals and books in the humanities
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from general interest magazines in every subject area, plus full-text book reviews, reference books, biographies, primary documents, and images
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News and scholarly articles, most full-text, related to all branches of the military
Oxford University Press (OUP) Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles in many subjects
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines

Subscription Digital Archives

American Race Relations Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window Global reporting and analysis of 20th-century U.S. race relations
- This link opens in a new window
Civil Rights in America From Reconstruction to the Great Society This link opens in a new window Official publications and primary source documents related to a century of civil rights issues in the United States
- This link opens in a new window
African Americans and Jim Crow: Repression and Protest, 1883-1922 This link opens in a new window Primary documents in African American history under enforced racial segregation
- This link opens in a new window
African Americans and Reconstruction: Hope and Struggle, 1865-1883 This link opens in a new window Primary documents in African American history following the Civil War
- This link opens in a new window
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window Full-text historical content from Harper's Weekly magazine, 1857-1912
- This link opens in a new window
New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window Create an account for full-text access to the digital version of the New York Times, 1851 to the present, on any device
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Tips for searching in databases

Try various search terms in multiple databases.
Keep a list of searches you've tried.
Use " " to keep words together: "Julius Caesar"
Narrow your search with filters like date or subject.
Save useful sources immediately!

More Information

News & Newspapers

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news from national & international newspapers, plus television & radio news transcripts
Newswires This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news from top worldwide news services such as Associated Press and United Press International
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva holds most major US newspapers, though not necessarily archived.

Research Databases - General Academic

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly and professional journals in all disciplines
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A Google search tool for scholarly articles and books, with links to some full text
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarship in women’s studies and feminism with some links to full text