Research Guides: Exercise Science: Article Databases

Research Databases - Medical, Health Professions

Search these databases for journal articles. Sometimes instead of a complete (full text) article, you'll only be able to access an abstract or citation.

How are PubMed and Medline different?

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly articles on sports and sports medicine with some full text, 1982 to present
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly and professional journal articles in health and life sciences, with some links to full text
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles from journals in health and life sciences and social and behavioral sciences
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from scholarly and professional journals in health and medicine; uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) This link opens in a new window
Randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text systematic reviews and other information on healthcare effects
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts, with some full text, to scholarly journals in medicine, plus the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and full-text articles for scholarly and professional journals in nursing and allied health fields
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical reference information for health care professionals, updated daily

About Scientific Articles

What is the difference between a primary source and a secondary source?
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article | Arizona State University
An interactive introduction to the standard parts of a scholarly journal article.
How to read scientific papers
An infographic showing strategies for reading scholarly articles
Example: Peer-reviewed original research
- This link opens in a new window
This peer-reviewed, empirical study is an example of a primary source.
Example: Review article
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a sample and synthesis of available research on a topic.
Example: Systematic review & meta-analysis
- This link opens in a new window
-A systematic review answers a defined research question by collecting and summarising all empirical evidence that fits pre-specified eligibility criteria.
-A meta-analysis is the use of statistical methods to summarise the results of these studies.
Example: Popular article (non-academic)
- This link opens in a new window

Research Databases - General, Academic

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from scholarly and professional journals in education
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly and professional journals in all disciplines
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A Google search tool for scholarly articles and books, with links to some full text