Skip to Main Content Shenandoah University

Archives and Special Collections: Welcome

Welcome

University Archives

The Huffer-McAdams Memorial Archives, known as the University Archives, is on the second floor of Smith Library. This collection houses the Shenandoah Collection of archival materials relating to the history of the university. Annual reports and financial statements, accreditation self-studies, and the Zynodoa yearbook are examples of publications found in this area. Additionally, the collection includes publications by current and former faculty and alumni, as well as books and materials concerning the history and development of the university. Access is available by appointment.

Archive News - Nancy Larrick Crosby

Nancy Larrick Crosby

 

Nancy Larrick Crosby (1910-2004), friend of Shenandoah, Board of Trustees member, and groundbreaking champion of marginalized readers, was recently recorded in Wikipedia by our own Online Learning Library, Aimee Gee. Check out the Wikipedia article here.

To research other remarkable people associated with Shenandoah over the years, check out the University Archives. The archive is  open to appointments all year.

Music Archive

Recordings from the Shenandoah Conservatory are located in the Music Archives on the first floor of Smith Library. Access is limited by appointment. Please contact Kathy Evans, Reference & Archives Librarian, at 

Special Collections

Norman Heim Collection

The Norman Heim Collection consists of more than 4,000 scores for woodwinds in general and clarinet in particular. The collection is a gift from noted clarinetist and teacher Dr. Norman Heim, professor emeritus at the University of Maryland, and includes copies of his own compositions. The collection is organized and cataloged in a Google Sheets database. The Heim collection does not circulate. For more information, contact Kathy Evans in the Reference Department.

See link below for a listing and description of our other special collections.

Evangelical United Brethren (EUB) Archives

Shenandoah University is the repository for all historical records of ministers and churches of the Virginia Conference of the United Brethren in Christ and Evangelical United Brethren churches prior to 1968, the date of the merger with the Methodist Church.  The materials are housed in the Gruver-Souders UB/EUB Archives which are located in the Alson H. Smith, Jr. Library, on Shenandoah’s Winchester campus. Materials found in this archives include minister biographies, sermons and obituaries; conference minutes; old church directories; local church histories; old labeled pictures; shape note hymn books; Women’s Missionary albums; and decorative plates with church pictures on them.

picture of Evangelical United Brethren (EUB) Women in Ministry

Women have always had an important role at Shenandoah and with the UB/EUB church. This display is located in basement of Smith Library.

Other EUB Archives

Archives Librarian

Profile Photo
Kathy Evans
she/her

Indices

Donations

General Donation Policy

Items we do not accept:

  • materials unrelated to the university or outside of our scope
  • materials that are duplicative of items already in our collections
  • secondary or published material unrelated to Shenandoah University
  • plaques and trophies will little informational value
  • materials on deposit
  • rare books that do not pertain to our history
  • student files including transcripts, grades and degrees
  • items that contain excessive or irreparable mold or similar damage
  • reappointment/tenure files
  • art (paintings, sculpture, etc.) that are unrelated to our history 

If we decline a donation, we will do our best to help you identify another home for the material.

When in doubt, please do not throw it out!