The Huffer-McAdams Memorial Archives, known as the University Archives, is on the second floor of Smith Library. This collection houses the Shenandoah Collection of archival materials relating to the history of the university. Annual reports and financial statements, accreditation self-studies, and the Zynodoa yearbook are examples of publications found in this area. Additionally, the collection includes publications by current and former faculty and alumni, as well as books and materials concerning the history and development of the university. Access is available by appointment.
The Norman Heim Collection consists of more than 4,000 scores for woodwinds in general and clarinet in particular. The collection is a gift from noted clarinetist and teacher Dr. Norman Heim, professor emeritus at the University of Maryland, and includes copies of his own compositions. The collection is organized and cataloged in a Google Sheets database. The Heim collection does not circulate. For more information, contact Kathy Evans in the Reference Department.
See link below for a listing and description of our other special collections.
Shenandoah University is the repository for all historical records of ministers and churches of the Virginia Conference of the United Brethren and Evangelical United Brethren churches prior to 1968, the date of the merger with the Methodist Church. The materials are housed in the Gruver-Souders UB/EUB Archives which are located in the Alson H. Smith, Jr. Library, on Shenandoah’s Winchester campus. Materials found in this archives include minister biographies, sermons and obituaries; conference minutes; old church directories; local church histories; old labeled pictures; shape note hymn books; Women’s Missionary albums; and decorative plates with church pictures on them.
The SU community lost a special friend in August. Jacob "Jake" Gruver was a founding member of the Gruver-Souders UB/EUB Church archives located in our library. No one knew the archives like Jake and we will be forever grateful for his dedication to the UB/EUB archives. Contributions in his honor can be made to the UB/EUB Archives here: https://advancement.su.edu/choose-your-own-giving...
To read more about the life of Jake you can find his obituary here: https://www.heraldmailmedia.com/obituaries/phag0555584
Items we do not accept:
If we decline a donation, we will do our best to help you identify another home for the material.
When in doubt, please do not throw it out!