Skip to main content

Psychology: Article Databases

Research Databases - Psychology, Education, Health Sciences

If you can't access full-text articles in these databases, search for the article in Google Scholar, or ask a librarian for help.

Research Databases - Science, General Academic

Reading Peer-Reviewed Articles

Peer-reviewed articles are generally written above your reading level. Take your time; don't expect to understand the article immediately. Try reading in this order:

  1. Abstract: Read it carefully. If you can't understand the abstract at all, the article might not be relevant to your topic.
  2. Introduction: Background information about why the study was conducted.
  3. Skim the body of the article: This is the methods, discussion, results, etc. Pay attention to the headings, sections, and figures.
  4. Conclusion: The author's interpretations of the study's results. By now you should know whether this article will be helpful, or whether you need to move on to another article or adjust your topic.
  5. Literature review: The scholarly conversation about the topic. This might contain additional sources for your project. It's okay to skip this section until you decide whether or not to use the article in your research.
  6. Second Reading: read the complete article from beginning to end. Read slowly and look up words you don't recognize. Take notes.

While you read, try to determine:

  • The big question and smaller detailed questions the author is trying to answer.
  • Whether you think the author's study and results are credible.
  • How the article fits within your research. Does it strengthen or challenge your hypothesis?

How do I know a journal is peer reviewed?

This comprehensive handout from the library at Angelo State University How To Recognize Peer Reviewed (Referred) Journals offers useful advice on distinguishing between scholarly and other types of journals.  

Among other advice, they recommend also consulting Ulrich's directory.

DSM, Tests and Measurements

PsycINFO Tutorial

This YouTube tutorial was created by the APA.  You can find more APA tutorials here.

Database Tutorials

Many of the databases that you will use come from Ebsco, a provider of online indexes and full text. 

These brief tutorials  describe the searching strategies that work best in databases such as CINAHL and SportDiscus.   You will need Adobe Flash Player to view them.

Creating a Basic Search (Ebsco)

Advanced Search (Ebsco)


These online tutorials are specific to health sciences databases.

CINAHL Basic Searching (Ebsco)

CINAHL Advanced Searching (Ebsco)

PubMed Tutorials (National Library of Medicine) Several tutorials ranging from basic to advanced searching and MeSH term searching.