Research Guides: Religious Studies: Islamic Studies

Article Databases

Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and full-text articles from scholarly journals in religion and philosophy
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to dissertations and theses worldwide, 1861-present, with some full text
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A Google search tool for scholarly articles and books, with links to some full text
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Expand your search! Use the Choose Databases link above the search box to search multiple collections at once.

SU Library Catalog

WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, scores, articles, and more at SU Libraries and beyond
EBSCO Ebook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebooks in a wide variety of academic subjects

Woman's Identity and the Qur'An by Nimat H. Barazangi
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2011
An original and uncompromising study of the Qur'anic foundations of women's identity and agency, this book is a bold call to Muslim women and men to reread and reinterpret the Qur'an, Islam's most authoritative source, and to discover within its revelations an inherent affirmation of gender equality.

Streaming Video

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos including educational films, archival footage, and newsreels in most subject areas
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos covering most academic subjects

Background Information

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference books in all subject areas, with downloadable entries
Oxford Reference Online - Premium Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text dictionaries and other reference works, with downloadable entries

Reference Books

Reference books give you background information, expert insight, or connections between topics that you might otherwise miss. SU's print reference collection is beside the main floor reference desk.

See examples below.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices by Thomas Riggs In 1,800 pages across 3 volumes, Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers. Volume 1, Religions of the World, contains 20-to-25-page entries on 13 major religions, such as Christianity and Islam, and 3-to-5 page entries on 28 religious subgroups, such as Shi'ites or Baptists. Volumes 2 and 3 focus on the significant religions in 193 countries; entries range fro
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2014
Global Dictionary of Theology by William A. Dyrness (Editor); Veli-Matti Kärkkäinen (Editor) Presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology. Inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of the Qur'an by O Leaman Staff
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2006

Oxford Reference Online - Premium Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text dictionaries and other reference works, with downloadable entries
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference books in all subject areas, with downloadable entries

Online Islamic Studies Tools

The Quranic Arabic Corpus
"An annotated linguistic resource which shows the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology."
Muslim Heritage
"An online community of scholars devoted to the study of Muslim Heritage. A good starting point for introductory information." -ASU
IslamFYI
From Princeton University’s Muslim Life Program. Serves as an introductory educational resource on Islam for the public.
Contemporary Islamic Thought (ICIT)
"ICIT aims to identify and cultivate new Islamic leaders by helping them shape the direction of change; it also looks to improve the performance of existing decision makers by aligning their goals to those of the global Islamic movement."

Journals

BrowZine (Find a Journal) Search for journals by title or topic here. When you select a title, you may be redirected to an SU database to read full articles.
Comparative Islamic Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Qur'anic Studies
Available from multiple sources. Check the date range to choose a link.
Open Access Journals in Islamic Studies
A long list of academic journals.