This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Old Testament Essentials: Creation, conquest, exile, and return by This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowReference books give you background information, expert insight, or connections between topics that you might otherwise miss. SU's print reference collection is beside the main floor reference desk.
See examples below.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices by
In 1,800 pages across 3 volumes, Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers. Volume 1, Religions of the World, contains 20-to-25-page entries on 13 major religions, such as Christianity and Islam, and 3-to-5 page entries on 28 religious subgroups, such as Shi'ites or Baptists. Volumes 2 and 3 focus on the significant religions in 193 countries; entries range fro
This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of Jewish Lore and Legend by
Provides a systematic, well-illustrated guide to the web of legend, folklore, and superstition that is crucial to understanding Judaism. The book describes all the main characters and the legends that have grown up around them; Jewish methods of Biblical interpretation; the framework of Jewish law, literature, and poetry; the festivals of the Jewish Year; the different languages and subgroups within the Jewish community; and the many countries that Jews have lived in, as well as the importance of the Holy Land.
This link opens in a new window
Global Dictionary of Theology by
Presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology. Inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowThese tools are intended both for scholars and for popular Bible study, so some will take a more academic approach than others.