Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Shenandoah University

Faculty Information: Using Library Materials

For Your Research or Leisure

General Information

  • Library Card: University ID Card
  • Cost per Year: No Charge
  • Loan Limit: No Item Limit
  • Loan Period: 120 Days

Overdue Materials and Fines

Employees are blocked from further borrowing at 3 overdue items. 

Employees are not charged fines for overdue materials from Shenandoah University Libraries. However, overdue materials not returned after 4 months will be considered lost items, and the borrower will be billed for replacement. Faculty may incur fines for overdue interlibrary loan items.

Renewals

Items may be renewed 3 times unless a request has been made for that title. Step-by-step instructions for renewing items are found on the Circulation guide.

Items Available

  • Books and music scores
  • CDs and DVDs
  • iPhone chargers, MacBooks, MacBook chargers, MacBook USBC and VGA adapters
  • Personal Whiteboards and dry erase markers

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service provided exclusively for current SU students, faculty and staff. Books, scores and copies of journal articles needed for research may be borrowed or copied from other libraries in Virginia or elsewhere in the United States. For more information about policies and procedures, please see the Interlibrary Loan information page.

Shenandoah University Libraries use the WorldShare ILL platform to manage interlibrary borrowing and lending. Log in to your account here.

If you have questions regarding interlibrary loan or document delivery, please call the Interlibrary Loan Office at (540) 545-7318, toll-free at (877) 289-4611, or email Sharon Gochenour at library@su.edu.

Requesting Materials for the Collections

Collection development is a joint responsibility of the professional library faculty and the teaching faculty, with input from students, staff and administration. 

The library allocates collection funds to existing departmental and program areas and usually provides additional funding to develop collections in support of new programs. Digital content in ebooks, journals and other electronic media is preferred over physical formats in most cases.

Requests may be submitted throughout the year by email to Jackie DeLong, Resources Librarian. Requesting faculty members will be notified when orders are placed, when materials are available to use, and when materials are unavailable for purchase.

  • If you're new to WCD, start here with a basic search using a keyword or two. 
  • Explore the Advanced Search page, which allows you to select among several databases, SU library collections, libraries worldwide, and more.

Featured Collections for Faculty

See the Full List of Digital Resources

For Your Classes

In your Canvas course navigation menu, you’ll find a link labeled Library Resources.

Library Resources link in Canvas

By default, clicking on that link opens the SU Libraries homepage within your Canvas course:

Library homepage in Canvas

If a matching research guide for your subject has been identified, that page will open instead:

subject guide in Canvas

To request a guide for your specific subject or course, contact Aimee Gee (agee@su.edu).

Why Link Instead of Sharing Files?

When you want to share digital resources from the library's collections, here are three reasons to consider linking rather than copying and uploading files:

  • Avoid violating licensing and copyright restrictions.
  • Help students become familiar with library resources.
  • Help the library track which resources are in demand.

If you need help finding or formulating links, please contact the library. We're happy to help!


1. Always use the permalink for the item.

A permanent link, or permalink, is a type of URL intended to provide reliable access to a specific digital resource over time. Other names for this type of link include stable URLpersistent link, and durable URL.

Each database provides a way to copy a permalink to a particular resource. Generally, at least one of these three options will be present.

  • A link icon:
  • A share icon:
  • A DOI (digital object identifier)

A DOI may be presented as an alphanumeric ID or preceded by https://dx.doi.org/ to create a permalink

Example DOI:
10.1016/j.tics.2020.06.009

Example DOI permalink:
https://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.tics.2020.06.009

2. Add SU's EZProxy prefix when necessary.

EZProxy is a login that allows SU students, faculty and staff to access subscription materials from anywhere—on or away from campus. When you share permalinks provided by databases and publisher sites, you may need to add the EZProxy information to make the link accessible off-campus. The prefix is:

https://suproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

Example permalink
https://www.jstor.org/stable/24596009

Example proxied permalink
https://suproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24596009

Library materials may be placed on reserve at the Circulation Desk in the Smith Library.

Submitting Requests

Please submit a Faculty Course Reserve Request Form to add your items to the course reserves collection. Reserve lists should be submitted to the Library at least five working days before the beginning of each term to enable staff to collect and process reserves. Items may be dropped off at Smith Library. For questions regarding Course Reserves, please contact Christine Forbes at (540) 665-5423.

Course Reserve Options

There are several types of reserves:

  • Closed – for 3 hour use within the library only;
  • 24-Hour – may be checked out any time during library hours and must be returned within 24 hours;
  • 3-Day – may be checked out any time during library hours and must be returned within three days;
  • 7-Day – may be checked out any time during library hours and must be returned with seven days.

Restrictions

Federal copyright law places several limits on library reserve collections. One of the most important is the requirement that a faculty member obtain permission from the copyright holder for copied items to placed on reserve for longer than one semester. This provision applies even if the Library or the professor owns the item which is duplicated. For more information, contact Andy Kulp at (540) 665-5444.