Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Shenandoah University

Faculty Information: Linking to Resources

Why link instead of copying?

When you want to share digital resources from the library's collections, here are three reasons to consider linking rather than copying and uploading files:

  • Avoid violating licensing and copyright restrictions.
  • Help students become familiar with library resources.
  • Help the library track which resources are in demand.

How to Link to Resources

1. Always use the permalink for the item.

A permanent link, or permalink, is a type of URL intended to provide reliable access to a specific digital resource over time. Other names for this type of link include stable URLpersistent link, and durable URL.

Each database provides a way to copy a permalink to a particular resource.

2. Add SU's EZProxy prefix when necessary.

EZProxy is a login that allows SU students, faculty and staff to access subscription materials from anywhere—on or away from campus. When you share permalinks provided by databases and publisher sites, you may need to add the EZProxy information to make the link accessible off-campus. The prefix is:

https://suproxy.su.edu/login?url=

Example permalink
https://www.jstor.org/stable/24596009

Example proxied permalink
https://suproxy.su.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/stable/24596009.

3. Ask Us

If you need help finding or formulating a permalink, please contact the library. We're happy to help!

Where to Find Permalinks

Publishers' websites and subscription resources may provide permalinks in a variety of ways. Generally, at least one of these three options will be present.

  • A link icon:
  • A share icon:
  • A DOI (digital object identifier)

A DOI is a permanent, unique name used to identify types of digital content, such as a journal article, an ebook, or an ebook chapter.

Sometimes DOIs are presented as permalinks. Example: https://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.tics.2020.06.009

Other times, DOIs are presented in a brief version that you can turn into a link. Simply add https://dx.doi.org/ before the highlighted DOI below to create the permalink above.

DOI example

In WorldCat Discovery (WCD), the library's catalog, look for the Share button. It appears on both the search results page and on pages for individual item details.

WCD share button

When you click the Share button, a popout window will open and provide the link to copy.

WCD copy link

You do not need to add the EZProxy information to links copied from WCD, so this is often the simplest way to share items with others.

EBSCO permalinkIn EBSCO's  databases, look for the tools on the right-hand side of the page for a particular book or article.

Click "Permalink" and copy the URL.

This URL already includes the EZproxy prefix that enables remote access.

On the page for a particular resource in a ProQuest database, look for the save options in the upper-right part of the screen and click All Options.

ProQuest All Options

A popout window will open. Click the URL at the top of that window to copy it.

ProQuest permalink

This URL already includes the EZproxy information that enables remote access.

When you're viewing the page for a particular resource in JSTOR, look for the "Stable URL" on the left side of the page (just below the journal title and publication information).

JSTOR Stable URL

Select and copy the URL.

Don't forget to add the EZproxy prefix to the beginning of the URL to enable remote access.