Available from EBSCO, Religion and Philosophy Collection is a comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. It offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR is a full-text archive of more than 500 important scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. SU subscribes to Collections I, II, III, IV, VII and Music. Note: During the Covid-19 pandemic, the entire JSTOR e-journal collection will be available to users. This extended availability will extend through December 31, 2020.
Available through ProQuest, PQDT: FT includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Available from EBSCO, this resource is a large interdisciplinary ebook collection, containing over 205,000 ebooks in a wide variety of academic subject areas. The ebooks can be read online or downloaded to a desktop computer, laptop, iPad, iPhone, or other device.
Wagner "opens" the Qur'an by offering a comprehensive and extraordinarily readable, step-by-step introduction to the text, making it accessible to students, teachers, clergy, and general readers interested in Islam and Islam's holy Book.
An original and uncompromising study of the Qur'anic foundations of women's identity and agency, this book is a bold call to Muslim women and men to reread and reinterpret the Qur'an, Islam's most authoritative source, and to discover within its revelations an inherent affirmation of gender equality.
Over 675 titles of full-length feature films including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Films on Demand is a streaming video resource containing thousands of educational videos, archival films, and newsreels in more than 30 subject areas. Content is searchable/viewable by full title or segments. Create playlists, tag favorites, and set preferences with a free individual user account. Adobe Flash or QuickTime needed to view videos.
Reference books give you background information, expert insight, or connections between topics that you might otherwise miss. SU's print reference collection is beside the main floor reference desk.
A concise overview of the globalization of religious culture and society around the world in both its historical and contemporary aspects. Includes topics related to the diaspora of cultures and dispersions of peoples; the transitional aspects of religious ideas and practices; the cultural diversity of religious traditions; and the responses of religion--both negative and positive--to multicultural society. The volumes include essays on the contemporary religious society of every country in the world.
Presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology. Inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South.
"An annotated linguistic resource which shows the Arabic grammar, syntax and morphology for each word in the Holy Quran. The corpus provides three levels of analysis: morphological annotation, a syntactic treebank and a semantic ontology."