Skip to main content

WorldCat Discovery (WCD) - Finding Journal Articles and Books: WCD - Find Articles by Topic

Finding articles by topic in WorldCat Discovery

ADVANCED SEARCH in WorldCat Discovery can help you locate journal articles for your research topics. Here is an example of how you would search for articles that address both "religion" and "evolution." Notice that both terms must be keywords, that the format must be article, and the location is SU Library.

This is a partial list of the results. Notice that you can limit the results to peer-reviewed or scholarly articles.

Accessing SU Library databases

Another way to find articles on a research topic is to start with one of SU Library's many databases. These databases index and provide full text to articles in magazines, newspapers, and, most importantly, scholarly journals.

Go to any WorldCat Discovery page, click the
Library Links
drop down menu, and select Library Databases.

Or, you can go to the SU Library homepage, and select
the 
Find Databases and eResources link. 

Selecting subject-specific databases

SU Library's list of databases is lengthy, so you may wish to use a Subject category to see a list of specifically 
related databases. Academic Search Complete is an excellent database to use when you're first starting to search for journal articles.

Using Academic Search Complete to find journal articles

A search combining the keywords "religion" and "evolution" looks like this. Of the 3,000+ results, many are available full text.