Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Media & Society Wordpress Site
Official website of the Smithsonian, the world's largest museum and research complex, with 19 museums, 9 research centers, and affiliates around the world.
Find high resolution royalty-free images, editorial stock photos, vector art, video footage clips and stock music licensing
The world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content.
U.S. National Archives
Holds the records of the United States Federal government. On-line access to art works, census data, U.S. legal manuscripts, the Federal Register and more.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
"The dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary teaching and research in fashion and dress."
The Fair Use provision in US copyright law states that you can use copyrighted material in your projects and papers. Learn how to do it legally, and how much is too much.
YOU MUST STILL CITE EVERY SOURCE
Primary History & Culture Sources
As always, use discretion before relying on websites. Verify that the source is what it says it is by searching for the title elsewhere. When in doubt: check with your professor.
From the Library or Congress. A huge collection of U.S. and North American documents.
From Yale Law: Covers law, history, and diplomacy.
British History Online
A "digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800."
From BYU: Primary European documents covering prehistory to modern Europe.
Hanover College Historical Texts Collection
Ancient and modern, North American and global. Many letters and personal accounts.
Hansard: British Parliamentary Archives
"Produced from digitised editions of Commons and Lords Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament."
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Access to print, pictorial and audio-visual collections and other digital services
Online Library of Liberty
A collection of scholarly works about individual liberty and free markets.
World Digital Library
A joint project of the U.S. Library of Congress and the U.N. Books, manuscripts, maps, and other primary materials, from 8000 BCE to 2000 CE.
Old Bailey Online
A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
Chronicling America: Historic Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1925 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
"A place for people to share photos and stories,
telling the histories of their local communities." Hit or miss, but worth checking.
Primary Source Sets
From the Digital Public Library of America. Explore the rest of the site, too.