Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Databases - Mass Communication
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Available through EBSCO, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 500 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more title. Communication and Mass Media Complete includes full text for 380 journals.
National Geographic Digital Archive
Provides a complete digital archive of National Geographic from 1888 to the present. It Includes every page in every issue, including images, maps and advertisements.
Research Databases - Related Subjects
Education Research Complete
Available through Ebsco, Education Research Complete offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals, relating to all areas of education. This resource provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals. Also includes full-text for more than 500 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
A free resources available from the Institute of Educational Sciences. Coverage includes access to more than 1,300,000 ERIC documents (ED), from 1993 to the present as well ad indexing of the entire ERIC database.
Humanities and Social Science Retrospective 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
Available from EBSCO, this resource indexes more than 1,300,000 articles in 1,200 journals in the social sciences and humanities. The coverage spans 1907 - 1984.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Available from EBSCO, this comprehensive database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. It includes links to full text from citations within PsycINFO.
Research Databases - General Academic
Academic Search Complete
Available from Ebsco, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. The database includes indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and nearly 12,000 publications such as monographs, reports and conference proceedings.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Familiar Google interface is linked to scholarly journal and monographic literature.
Google Scholar is provides access to Shenandoah resources though our online catalog and "Journals and More A-Z.
Humanities International Complete
Available from EBSCO, Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
This database includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,100 titles and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. This resource includes full text for more than 890 journals.
JSTOR is a full-text archive of more than 500 important scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. SU subscribes to Collections I, II, III, IV, VII and Music. Note: During the Covid-19 pandemic, the entire JSTOR e-journal collection will be available to users. This extended availability will extend through December 31, 2020.
News & Newspapers
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national, international, and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, The Boston Globe, and The Times (London).
Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.
Regional Business News
Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. This collection includes over 14,000 feeds covering a range of business and general news topics. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record.
Many of the databases that you will use come from Ebsco, a provider of online indexes and full text.
These brief tutorials describe the searching strategies that work best in databases such as RILM and Music Index. You will need Adobe Flash Player to view them.
Creating a Basic Search (Ebsco)
Advanced Search (Ebsco)