Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Sources in SU print books and ebooks:
Measuring health: A guide to rating scales and questionnaires,1996. SU Smith Library REF RA408.5 .M38 1996
RAND Health Surveys and Tools A collection of health assessments, available as public documents.
Measuring Health and Disability: Manual for WHO Disability Assessment Schedule (WHODAS 2.0), 2009. Available via the ebrary collection of full text books online.
Measuring health: A review of quality of life measurement scales, 2005. Available via Ebsco eBook Academic Collection database.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection
Available from EBSCO, this resource is a large interdisciplinary ebook collection, containing over 205,000 ebooks in a wide variety of academic subject areas. The ebooks can be read online or downloaded to a desktop computer, laptop, iPad, iPhone, or other device.
Sometimes instruments can be found in the Proquest Dissertations and Theses database, especially if the author has modified an existing assessment or developed a new one.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Available through ProQuest, PQDT: FT includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Finding Reviews of Tests, Measurements, and Assessments
Databases, such as CINAHL, Medline, PubMed, PsycInfo, and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences are helpful in locating health assessment reviews, as well as validity and reliability studies.
Example: Use this strategy in Medline and PubMed to locate articles about various assessment measures combining the main topic, such as the shoulder, with MeSH terms such as these:
(Disability Evaluation[MH] OR Health Status Indicators[MH] OR Questionnaires[MH] OR Pain Measurement[MH])
AND Shoulder Pain[MH]
CINAHL Plus with Full-text
Available from EBSCOhost, this resource indexes more than 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, with full text for 600+ titles.
MEDLINE is an index to medical literature from the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from from SU collections, from PubMed Central and from publisher web sites.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Available from EBSCO, this comprehensive database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. It includes links to full text from citations within PsycINFO.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print
Available from EBSCO. This resource is
produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska.
Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.