Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Databases - Medicine, Health Sciences
You can search databases such as these for journal articles. Most provide article citations and abstracts. In many cases, you will also be able to access full text articles.
Micromedex Solutions includes a wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.
AHFS Drug Information
Provides detailed information on drugs and medicines, especially those licensed in the USA.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from from SU collections, from PubMed Central and from publisher web sites.
MEDLINE is an index to medical literature from the National Library of Medicine.
This resource is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Updated daily.
Published by Therapeutic Research Center, the authority on integrative medicine. This resource provides high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Natural Medicines is an international multidisciplinary collaboration including contributors from more than 100 eminent academic institutions.
Alt Health Watch
Indexes articles relevant to complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
CINAHL Plus with Full-text
Available from EBSCOhost, this resource indexes more than 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, with full text for 600+ titles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Available from EBSCO, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, plus abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. It includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Available from Ebsco, Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines and
includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books published by the People's Medical Society. It contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish).
Consumer Health Complete
Available from EBSCO, provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health.
SPORTDiscuss with Full Text
Available through EBSCO, this database provides indexing to sport and sports medicine literature with full-text for 490 journals and coverage back to 1982.
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Full-text health sciences and medical journals available through Ovid, including the LWW Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection with Ovid Emcare.
Available from the Cochrane Collaborative and Wiley Press, Cochrane Library is a full-text database of systematic reviews and other information on the effects of healthcare.
ScienceDirect College Editions
Available through Elsevier, ScienceDirect College Editions provides full-text access to more than 900 titles in the health and life sciences, and to 370 journal titles in the social sciences and humanities.
Research Databases - Psychology, Education, General Academic
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Available from EBSCO, this comprehensive database provides nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. It includes links to full text from citations within PsycINFO.
Education Research Complete
Available through Ebsco, Education Research Complete offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals, relating to all areas of education. This resource provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals. Also includes full-text for more than 500 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
A free resources available from the Institute of Educational Sciences. Coverage includes access to more than 1,300,000 ERIC documents (ED), from 1993 to the present as well ad indexing of the entire ERIC database.
JSTOR is a full-text archive of more than 500 important scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. SU subscribes to Collections I, II, III, IV, VII and Music. Note: During the Covid-19 pandemic, the entire JSTOR e-journal collection will be available to users. This extended availability will extend through December 31, 2020.
Oxford University Press (OUP) Journals
Full-text access to more than 233 journals from Oxford University Press. These journals cover virtually all subjects in the humanities, social sciences, business, science, language and general reference.
Academic Search Complete
Available from Ebsco, a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. The database includes indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and nearly 12,000 publications such as monographs, reports and conference proceedings.
Familiar Google interface is linked to scholarly journal and monographic literature.
Google Scholar is provides access to Shenandoah resources though our online catalog and "Journals and More A-Z.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
This YouTube tutorial was created by the American Psychological Association. You can find more APA tutorials here.