Skip to main content

Dance: Music and Videos

Dance Online

Jacobs Pillow Dance Interactive  "An ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today."

Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library An online archive of rare video documenting social performance in the Americas.

Dance-Tech.TV "Free, on-demand video platform focused on contemporary experimentation and innovation on the performance of movement."

NUMERIDANSE.TV Multimedia dance platform.

DanceChannelTV on YouTube.  Browseable by categories such as Ballet and Modern.

Dance Film Association Videos on Vimeo

FolkStreams / Dance Documentaries that focus on the culture, struggles, and arts - including dance - of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities. 

PBS LearningMedia / Dance Curricular materials K - 12.

Google Advanced  Video Search Search for videos by choreographer, title, artist, dance company, etc.

SU Recording Collections

Audio and video recordings are located on the 3rd floor of Smith Library. Recordings from the archive of Shenandoah Conservatory performances can be viewed there. CD, LP, and DVD recordings can be checked out by SU faculty and students.  

Turning The Tables: The 150 Greatest Albums Made By Women

Turning The Tables: The 150 Greatest Albums Made By Women is an NPR project.
"This list, of the greatest albums made by women between 1964 and present (2017) is an intervention, a remedy, a correction of the historical record. It rethinks popular music to put women at the center."  

Most songs can be found on Naxos, Naxos JazzYouTube, Spotify, Pandora, or AllMusic.

150-141140-131 | 130-121 | 120-111 | 110-101
100-91 | 90-81 | 80-71 | 70-61 | 60-51
50-41 | 40-31 | 30-21 | 20-11 | 10-1

Music and Sound Recordings

International Folk Dances A ​collection of music suitable for authentic folk dancing, most of it transferred from old 78 rpm and vinyl disc recordings.

National Jukebox - Historical Recordings 1901 - 1925 maintained by the Library of Congress. 

Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project - A collection of historical music available for streaming and download from the University of California, Santa Barbara.

The Monterey Jazz Festival Collection - "The festival's archive - preserved by the Stanford University Archive of Recorded Sound - contains recordings of live festival performances throughout the history of this enduring American cultural institution."

British Library Archival Sound Recordings - Digital access to selected recordings from the British Library Sound Archive.   Researchers can search all recordings on the site, listen to recordings where copyright permits.

Internet Archive Music and Arts Collection - "The audio Music collection features nearly 600 virtual record labels found in the Netlabels collection, the unique contemporary compositions and performances found in the Other Minds collection, and the hundreds of popular songs from the early 20th Century found in the 78 RPM collection."

Classical Connect  - Free classical music site

Early Music America (EMA) "The not-for-profit service organization for the field of early music in North America."  Click the Listen Now tab to listen to samples of music by early music specialists and performers.

Links to Early Music Recordings, in a list maintained by librarians at Yale University Libraries

NPR Music - National Public Radio interviews, profiles, videos, tiny desk concerts, and other performances.