Skip to main content

Arts Management: Article Databases

Research Databases - Performing Arts

You can search databases such as these for journal articles.  Most provide article citations and abstracts. In many cases, you will also be able to access full text articles.

Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archives (CPANDA)  Data sets, literature, and resources related to the arts from the Woodrow Wilson School at Princeton University.

The National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture (NADAC) is a repository that facilitates research on arts and culture by acquiring data, particularly those funded by federal agencies and other organizations.

Research Databases - Business, Economics

Research Databases - Industries, Corporations

Research Databases - Mass Communication, Education, Psychology, Sociology

Grants and Funding Sources

Grantmakers in the Arts (GIA) provides a library on material on philanthropic topics in the creative arts. 
 

National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) is an independent agency of the United States federal government that offers support and funding for projects exhibiting artistic excellence.

The Wallace Foundation: Audience Development for the Arts seeks to fund projects that focus on supporting arts organizations to develop and test ideas for reaching new audiences.

Dance Studies Association list of Funding Sources for dance and performing arts.

Research Databases - General Academic

Database Tutorials

Many of the databases that you will use come from Ebsco, a provider of online indexes and full text. 

These brief tutorials  describe the searching strategies that work best in databases such as RILM and Music Index.   You will need Adobe Flash Player to view them.

Creating a Basic Search (Ebsco)

Advanced Search (Ebsco)