Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Education: Scores

Finding Books, Scores, Recordings

SU library now provides WorldCat Discovery, which searches for print books and ebooks, music scores, media, articles, and much more. 

What is WorldCat Discovery?  A search system that helps you discover items in collections at SU and other libraries worldwide.

What does WorldCat Discovery search? Books, ebooks, articles, media, and more.

  • All items physically located within the library, just like the former SU catalog WebCat.
  • Content from many of our most popular databases - journal articles, ebooks, and media.
  • Items from other libraries worldwide that you can request through interlibrary loan.

How do I use WorldCat Discovery?

  • Enter your search terms.
  • Use the options on the left to limit your search by format, author, date, and more.
  • Look at the example of a "music education" search on the right.

Finding Scores at SU and Other Libraries

If WorldCat directs you to books and resources held in other libraries, you can submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request to borrow the materials.

Song Translations, Music Index

Music Scores and Other Online Music Sources

Petrucci Music Library (IMSLP)   Canadian Web site sponsored by the International Music Score Library Project and dedicated to creating "a virtual library containing all public domain music scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge."

Opera and Ballet Primary Sources (OBPS)  A growing collection of primary sources useful for opera and/or ballet research; nearly 10,000 scanned libretti and scores made available online.  The OBPS index also includes many scores, sets of parts, mise en scène, and other useful primary sources related to opera, ballet, and 19th-century vaudeville. Maintained by Brigham Young University and the City Archives of Brussels.

Sheet Music Consortium   Searchable database of images of sheet music from collections throughout the United States. A project of "a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open collection of digitized sheet music" maintained by the University of California, Los Angeles.

Online Resources for Music Scholars  An extensive, searchable database of websites, catalogs, databases, and other scholarly resources in music maintained by the librarians at Harvard University libraries.  Note:  Many of the entries link to Harvard-only sites, but many others are open access.