Skip to main content

Criminal Justice: Journal Articles

This guide provides information for accessing Criminal Justice resources from Shenandoah University.

Multidisciplinary Databases for Finding Criminal Justice Articles and Other Resources

Use the following databases to search for criminal justice articles.

  • Academic Search Complete - Available from Ebsco. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and nearly 12,000 publications including monographs, reports and conference proceedings
  • Cambridge Journals Online - Full-text access to more than 125 journals published by Cambridge University Press.
  • JSTOR JSTOR is a full-text archive of important scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. SU subscribes to Collections I, II, III, IV and VII and Music.
  • Oxford University Press Journals Online - Full-text access to more than 125 journals published by Oxford University Press
  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses: Full Text - Available through Proquest. Includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
  • PsycARTICLES - A collection of full-text, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals including those published by the APA.  Contains 150,000 articles from 70 journals.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection - Available from Ebsco. Comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals Linked to full text from citations within PsycINFO.
  • PsycINFO - An index to literature in educational psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines.  Contains 3,000,000 citations in more than 2,400 periodicals.
  • ScienceDirect College Editions - Social Science  and Humanities Collection Available through Elsevier. Full text access to more than 370 journals in the social sciences and humanities.
  • OmniFile Full-Text, Mega (H.W. Wilson) - Indexing to 4,000 publications with full text articles from 2,700 journals This database includes several important sub-files:

 

 

 

Tips for searching in databases

Don't settle for just any source. Search until you find what you're looking for.

  • Try multiple databases
  • Keep a list of keywords
  • Use " " to keep words together: "Julius Caesar" 
  • Peer reviewed or scholarly titles have the most authority
  • Narrow your search by date and subject
  • Select full text to see only sources you have immediate access to
  • Deselect full text to see sources which can be ordered quickly through ILL
  • SAVE USEFUL SOURCES IMMEDIATELY