This is the "Home" page of the "Research Databases - Social Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Databases - Social Sciences  

Databases in the Social Sciences
Last Updated: Sep 7, 2010 URL: http://libguides.su.edu/socscidbct Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Databases - Social Sciences

Academic Search Complete 

Available from Ebsco. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals.

Indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and nearly 12,000 publications including monographs, reports and conference proceedings

 

ACLS Humanities E-Book

This electronic resource includes approximately 2,800 full-text books in the humanities selected by scholars for their continuing importance for research and teaching.

 Cambridge Journals Online

Full-text access to more than 125 journals published by Cambridge University Press.

 

CIA Factbook  

Provides country profiles, maps and statistical data.

 

Communication and Mass Media Complete  

Available through Ebsco. Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 500 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more. This database includes full text for 380 journals.

 

Contemporary Women’s Issues

Available through FirstSearch.  Provides full-text access to information on women, fron 1992 to the present. 

 

Credo Reference

Credo Reference provides full text access to 100 major reference books in all subject areas.

 

DSM Premium

Available through PsychiatryOnline.com. Online access to the DSM-IV-TR along with the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Casebook, and the Treatment Companion. Included are 15 reference books and 5 peer-reviewed journals.

 

ebrary

Offers over 44,000 electronic books from major publishers such as Routledge and Taylor and Francis.

 

Global Road Warrior

Available through World Trade Press.  Covers 175 countries.  Research culture, communication, travel, business and maps. 

 

Journals@Ovid Full Text

Available through Ovid. An index to all scientific, technical and medical journals from Ovid.

Full-text access to 300 journals in nursing, health sciences.

 

JSTOR

JSTOR is a full-text archive of important scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. SU subscribes to Collections I, II, III, IV and VII and Music.

 

Mental Measurement Yearbook

Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.  Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business and leadership.

 

NCJRS - National Criminal Justice Reference Service 

 Criminal justice and substance abuse research and statistics. Includes abstracts database search.

 

Oxford University Press Journals Online

Full-text access to more than 125 journals published by Oxford University Press

 

Proquest Dissertations and Theses: Full Text

 Available through Proquest. Includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

 

PsycARTICLES

A collection of full-text, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals including those published by the APA.  Contains 150,000 articles from 70 journals.

  

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  

Available from Ebsco. Comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals Linked to full text from citations within PsycINFO.

 

PsycINFO

An index to literature in educational psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines.  Contains 3,000,000 citations in more than

2,400 periodicals.

Religion and Philosophy Collection  

Available from Ebsco. A comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.

 

ScienceDirect College Editions - Social Science  and Humanities Collection 

Available through Elsevier. Full text access to more than 370 journals in the social sciences and humanities.

 

Social Services Abstracts (CSA)

Available through Cambridge Scientific. An index to social service journal literature.

 

Sociological Abstracts (CSA)

Available through Cambridge Scientific. An index to sociological journal literature.

 

Tests in Print

Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, it serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available test that are currently in print in the English language.  TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).

 

Wilson Omnifile Full Text, Mega Edition

Indexing to 4,000 publications with full text articles from 2,700 journals This database includes several important sub-files:

 

Women's Studies International 

Available from Ebsco. Coverage includes more than 586,600 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to present. Supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Nearly 800 essential sources.

 

WorldCat

Available through FirstSearch. Contains more than 179+  million records of items owned by libraries around the world.

 

 

May 2010

 

    Reference Librarian

    Profile Image
    Cindy Thomas
    Contact Info
    540-665-5421
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip