Multi-Disciplinary Content Apps
BrowZine: This is and app that enables you to browse our library's e-journal content by creating a table of contents for each journal, with links to the PDF full text. For more information, see our LibGuide on Browzine.
Ebscohost Mobile: The Ebscohost is the most useful general app for accessing library databases. This app can be downloaded from the App Store. IPad and iPod user can follow the link on the bottom of any Ebscohost page to receive instructions to download this app, which must be activated according to Ebsco's instructions. An alternative to using the mobile app is to let your mobile browser take you to an Ebscohost site optimized for mobile device.
ebrary: ebrary provides access to more than 70,000 ebook titles in the SU library collection. The app is free, and can be downloaded for for iPhone or iPad.
Cambridge University Journals: CJO Mobile (CJOm) is an alternative version of Cambridge Journals Online (CJO) that has been optimised for smartphones and other small mobile devices. The mobile site is detected automatically when using your iPod Touch or iPhone. The mobile site works with the iPad, but the user may prefer the regular Cambridge Journals Online site and its fuller functionality.
Medical, Health-Related and Science Apps
ACS Mobile: provides users with a multi-journal live stream of new peer reviewed research content published by the American Chemical Society. $2.99 from the iTunes App Store.
AccessMedicine and AccessPharmacy: Not actual apps, but rather mobile sites for accessing both AccessMedicine and AccessPharmacy. Each requires users to create an AccessMedicine or AccessPharmacy account to connect. The URLs are: http://m.accessmedicine.com and http://m.accesspharmacy.com.
Dynamed: DynaMed is a clinical reference tool for health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care' level. REQUIRES EBSCO ACCOUNT.
Lexi-Comp Institutional: Pharmacy students and faculty will want to download this app to access Lexi-comp. Free through the iTunes App Store.
Pubmed on Tap: Works well for accessing PubMed online. This free version shows just 10 references at a time. Can be set for proxy access to full text. Free through the iTunes App Store.
SciVerse Science Direct: Access the SU ScienceDirect collection, including more than 900 journal titles. Requires free individual registration with your SU email account. Search for articles, save and email citations. Free through the iTunes App Store.
Art and Music Apps
ARTstor Mobile: The ARTstor Digital Library provides read-only features such as searching and browsing, zooming, and viewing saved image groups. The app includess Flashcard View which allows users to test their knowledge by viewing the image without textual information, and then flipping the image to reveal the image record. ARTstor Mobile is only available through the Safari browser, just go to http://library.artstor.org from your mobile device. FREE app for access to SU's ARTstor account.
Naxos Music Library: The NML appprovides access to more than 40,000 CDs Content can be streamed to your iPod Touch, iPad or iPhone. Create and share playlists. FREE app for access to SU's Naxos account. Separate login required. See library password page for this login.
Naxos Music Library Jazz: The NML appprovides access to more than 3,800 CDs Content can be streamed to your iPod Touch, iPad or iPhone. Create and share playlists. FREE app for access to SU's Naxos Jazz account. Separate login required. See library password page for this login.
Library Catalogs and Library Websites Access
Bookmyne: The Bookmyne app is a product of SirsiDynix, the developer of SU's Webcat Online Catalog. Bookmyne lets users search the catalog (ours and other SirsiDynix customers), place holds, check your borrower's record and renew items. Free through ITunes App Store.
SU App: The Shenandoah Mobile App has a library section, complete with catalog access, links to library databases and electronic resources, and information about library hours, staff and contact information. Free from the App Store.
Worldcat Mobile: Worldcat Mobile, from OCLC, provides catalog access to 179,000,000 items through the catalogs of more than 60,000 libraries worldwide. This mobile app makes it easy to find items in a library near you. Free through the iTunes App Store.
LibraryThing's Local Books: This mobile app from LibraryThing provides links to participating libraries and book stores. Free through the iTunes App Store.
WEPA Print: For a student, what could be of greater utility than the WEPA Print app? This free app lets you open and print Word and PDF documents from your iPhone, iPad or Android device to any of the WEPA print kiosks on campus. Available from the App Store.
Citation Management Apps
RefWorks Mobile: Access your RefWorks account from anywhere using your iPod Touch, iPhone or iPad. Rather than dowloading from the App Store, RefWorks Mobile (RefMobile) is accessed at www.refworks.com/mobile. RefMobile is only accessible using your Group Code and login information.
ZotPad: ZotPad is an iPad/iPhone client for the Zotero reference management software. If you have used Zotero as a browser add-on, ZotPadf will give you access to Zotero libraries and files on the Zotero server. Cost is $9.99.
Mendely Academic Reference Management: Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Create an account and download the app at http://www.mendeley.com/.
Diigo: Diigo offline Reader lets you save websites, search and browse your Diigo library, and download files for offline browsing. Download from App Store on iTunes for free.
Evernote: Not a citation manager, but a tool to take text notes, capture photos, mange audio clips. An award-winning tool and it is free. Download from the App Store on iTunes.
Where do I get apps?
The principal source for mobile apps is likely to be Apple's App Store, linked from your iPod Touch, iPhone or iPad. Many apps are free, though some apps have versions with more extensive features that can be downloaded for a nominal fee.
Other apps are available directly from the vendor that developed them. Some vendors have chosen to create alternative sites that are optimized for hand-held devices.