This is the "Home" page of the "Research Databases - Health Professions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Databases - Health Professions  

Databases for the Health Profession
Last Updated: Sep 7, 2010 URL: http://libguides.su.edu/healthdbct Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Databases - Health Professions

 

Academic Search Complete 

Available from Ebsco. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including

more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and nearly 12,000 publications including monographs, reports and conference proceedings.

 

Academic Search

Available through Lexis-Nexis.  Extensive indexing of legal, business, news and medical resources with many full text articles

and reports.

 

Alt Health Watch  

Available from Ebsco. Provides perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers

full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports

 

American Chemical Society Journals Online

Full-text access to 33 core journals in chemistry and related disciplines.

 

Anatomy TV  

The world’s most detailed 3D model of human anatomy online.

 

CINAHL

Available from Ebscohost. Indexing more than 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, going back to 1981. Includes Pre-CINAHL

 

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Available from Ebscohost. Indexing more than 3,000 nursing and allied health journals, with full text for 750+ titles. Includes

Pre-CINAHL.

 

Cochrane Library

A full-text database of systematic reviews and other information on the effects of healthcare.

 

Consumer Health Complete  

Available from Ebsco. Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs &

alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health.

 

Credo Reference

Credo Reference provides full text access to 100 major reference books in all subject areas.

 

DSM Premium

Available through PsychiatryOnline.com. Online access to the DSM-IV-TR along with the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis,

Casebook, and the Treatment Companion. Included are 15 reference books and 5 peer-reviewed journals.

 

ebrary

Offers over 44,000 electronic books from major publishers such as Routledge and Taylor and Francis.

 

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center

An index to journal articles, books, theses and curricular materials from 1966 to date.  Full text documents 1993 to date.

It contains indexing for 1,300,000 records and links to 317,000 full-text documents. Librarians recommend the Ebsco interface. 

    

Free Medical Journals.Com

Access to free full-text medical journals.

 

Health Source: Consumer Edition

Available from Ebsco. Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. Includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society.

Contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish)

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Available from Ebsco. Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, plus abstracts and

indexing for nearly 850 journals.

Includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

 

Journals @OVID Full Text

A collection of full-text of journal articles on health sciences, nursing and psychology.

 

MD Consult

Includes the complete text of over 50 leading medical reference books , and 89 journals.  Includes  full-text journals and Clinics of North America.  Also, search and compare 50,000 high-quality images. 

 

MedicLatina

Available from Ebsco. A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned

Latin American medical publishers.

Provides access to full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.

 

Medline

An index to medical literature from the National Library of Medicine with indexing from 1966.  Available though

FirstSearch and Ebsco.

 

 Micromedex

Micromedex Healthcare Series.  Includes a wide range of clinical databases, including unbiased, referenced information about

drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine.

 

Natural Standard Database

Published by Natural Standard, the authority on integrative medicine.  Provides high quality, evidence-based information

about complementary and alternative therapies.

 

OT Search 

Available through AOTA. An index to occupational therapy literature.

 

Proquest Dissertations and Theses: Full Text

 Available through Proquest. Includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.


PsycARTICLES

 A collection of full-text, peer-reviewed, scholarly journals including those published by the APA.  Contains 150,000 articles

from 70 journals.

 

PsycINFO

An index to literature in educational psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines.  Contains 3,000,000 citations in more than

2,400 periodicals.

 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  

Available from Ebsco. Comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. 

Linked to full text from citations within PsycINFO.

 

 PubMed

 Free access to millions of citations through Medline.

 

ScienceDirect College Editions - Health and Life Science Collections

Available through Elsevier. Full text access to more than 900 journals in health and life sciences.

 

Sociological Abstracts

An index to sociological journal literature.

 

SPORTDiscus with full text

Available through Ebscohost. Indexing to sport and sports medicine literature, with full-text for more than 490 journals.

Coverage back to 1982.

 

Wilson Omnifile

Indexing to 2,900 publications with full text articles from 1,484 journals.

 

WorldCat

Contains information on 179+ million books and other items owned by libraries around the

world.     

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

    Reference Librarian

    Profile Image
    Cindy Thomas
    Contact Info
    540-665-5421
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip