This is the "Home" page of the "HOW DO I GET THE THESIS OR DISSERTATION THAT I NEED?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HOW DO I GET THE THESIS OR DISSERTATION THAT I NEED?  

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2010 URL: http://libguides.su.edu/getthethesisct Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How Do I Get The Thesis or Dissertation That I Need?

How Do I Get The Thesis or Dissertation That I Need?

 

1.     Purchasing or Downloading Dissertation or Thesis

 

·         Proquest Dissertation and Thesis (SU Library Databases)

Full text collection which includes 2.7 million searchable citations of dissertation and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present day. 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

·         World Cat (SU Library Database)

Dissertations or thesis can also be located by using World Cat.  In some cases you may then find a direct link to full text imbedded in the World Cat record.

 

·         If you cannot find full text from Proquest or World Cat please try Interlibrary Loan.  

 

2.     Dissertation or Thesis – Interlibrary Loan 

·         You may request that a dissertation or thesis be borrowed for you from another library through the Interlibrary Loan process. 

·         From the Library homepage www.su.edu/library, click the link to Interlibrary Loan.  Select DISSERTATION AND THESIS delivery form.  Complete and submit the form.   

·         A dissertation or thesis lent from another library will be shipped to the SU Library.  OFF CAMPUS STUDENTS - In many cases, then it will be mailed to you under the condition that you return it to the SU Library by the designated due date.  Your location or certain lending requirement may not allow shipping ILL dissertation or theses to you.   

·         OFF CAMPUS STUDENTS - If the Interlibrary Loan dissertation or thesis cannot be shipped to you, you may request that its table of contents be copied and mailed to you.  You may then select chapters or sections which you would like to be copied, and the library staff will copy and mail those materials to you.  We ask that you request no more than the equivalent of one chapter. 

·         Copies of chapters and sections from Interlibrary Loan dissertations and theses will be mailed to graduate students living outside the United States on a limited basis. 

 

3.     Shenandoah University Dissertations or Theses.

Most dissertations and theses completed by Shenandoah University students are held in a non-circulation collection in the Library.  Beginning 2003, many SU theses and dissertations are available as electronic documents through the library catalog.  For more information, contact a Librarian.  

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip