Skip to main content

Environmental Studies: Journals & Article Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases for Finding Environmental Studies Articles and Other Resources

  • Academic Search Complete - Available from Ebsco. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and nearly 12,000 publications including monographs, reports and conference proceedings.
  • Agricola 
    National Agricultural Library Catalog and journal literature database, which covers topics such as, agriculture, allied disciplines, nutrition and environmental sciences.
  • American Chemical Society Journals Online - This resource provides full-text access to 19 of the core journals in chemistry, published by the American Chemical Society.
  • Cambridge Journals Online - Full-text access to more than 125 journals published by Cambridge University Press.
  • Environment Complete - Environment Complete covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
  • Google Scholar - This free resource will help you find scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Be sure to update Library Links in Google Scholar to include Smith Library resources.
  • GreenFILE - GreenFILE provides a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles and covers content about the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments as well as what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Some resources included are: Annual Review of Energy & the Environment, Journal of Environmental Engineering, Climate Change, Environmental Reviews and Agriculture and the Environment.
  • JSTOR JSTOR is a full-text archive of important scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. SU subscribes to Collections I, II, III, IV and VII and Music.
  • Oxford University Press Journals Online - Full-text access to more than 125 journals published by Oxford University Press
  • Proquest Dissertations and Theses: Full Text - Available through Proquest. Includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
  • ScienceDirect College Editions - Social Science and Humanities Collection Available through Elsevier. Full text access to more than 370 journals in the social sciences and humanities. 
  • OmniFile Full-Text, Mega (H.W. Wilson) - Indexing to 4,000 publications with full text articles from 2,700 journals.
  • Science.gov 
    A gateway to government science information and research results. Provides a search of over 50 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information on over 2100 scientific Websites.
  • Statista 
    Statista provides direct access to quantitative data 

These are just a few of the environmental journals available through Smith Library.

Biology Invasions      Ecology      Natural Areas Journal      Trends in Ecology & Evolution     

Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment      Molecular Ecology     Management of Biological Invasions

                                        Click the image to search for more journals.

SU Library e-Resources setting in Google Scholar

Before you begin searching in Google Scholar, be sure that the Library Links setting for SU Full Text is turned on.

  1. On the main Google Scholar page, select Settings.
  2. On the Settings page, select Library Links.
  3. You should see two boxes with checkmarks. The second box should show: Shenandoah University - Full Text @ Shenandoah. 
  4. If you don't see this box, type shenandoah into the search box, search, then check the box labeled Shenandoah University - Full Text @ Shenandoah . 

Now Google Scholar will know which SU resources you can access.

Tips for searching in databases

Don't settle for just any source. Search until you find what you're looking for.

  • Try multiple databases
  • Keep a list of keywords
  • Use " " to keep words together: "Julius Caesar" 
  • Peer reviewed or scholarly titles have the most authority
  • Narrow your search by date and subject
  • Select full text to see only sources you have immediate access to
  • Deselect full text to see sources which can be ordered quickly through ILL
  • SAVE USEFUL SOURCES IMMEDIATELY

How do I know a journal is peer reviewed?

This comprehensive handout from the library at Angelo State University How To Recognize Peer Reviewed (Referred) Journals offers useful advice on distinguishing between scholarly and other types of journals.  

Among other advice, they recommend also consulting Ulrich's directory.

Scientific Article Types