Research Guides: Physician Assistant: Research Databases

Medical & Health Databases

You can search databases such as these for journal articles. Most provide article citations and abstracts. In many cases, you can find full text of the articles.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly and professional journal articles in health and life sciences, with some links to full text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Citations and full-text articles for scholarly and professional journals in nursing and allied health fields
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from scholarly and professional journals in health and medicine; uses Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts, with some full text, to scholarly journals in medicine, plus the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Citations to scholarly articles on sports and sports medicine with some full text, 1982 to present
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Full-text systematic reviews and other information on healthcare effects
PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database) This link opens in a new window Randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy
Journals@Ovid Full Text This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly journals in health sciences and medicine
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly articles from journals in health and life sciences and social and behavioral sciences

Psychology, Education, and General Databases

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly journal articles in behavioral science and mental health
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from scholarly and professional journals in education
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts to scholarly publications in education, with some links to full text
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from scholarly and professional journals in all disciplines
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window A Google search tool for scholarly articles and books, with links to some full text

Frequently Asked Questions about Articles

Full-Text Lookup Tool

LibKey Nomad
A browser extension that helps you find or request full-text articles as you browse the web.

Clinical Reference Tools

Practical clinical reference tools for quick access to synthesized information.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window Quick access to synthesized medical information for clinical practitioners
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window Clinical reference information for health care professionals, updated daily
Micromedex This link opens in a new window Information for clinicians about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine

Evidence-Based Practice

In Evidence-Based Practice (EBP), research studies are ranked in a Hierarchy of Evidence. Information sources described near the top of the pyramid are the most thoroughly reviewed and synthesized. The type of sources you need to seek will depend on the type of question you need to answer.

Research design and evidence, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons