Skip to main content

Biology Resources at Shenandoah University: Journals

Need Help? We make your research easier.

We will: 

  • Save you time
  • Help you find the best materials
  • Help you become a better researcher 
    _______________________________

  • Rosemary Green, Graduate Programs Librarian - 540-665-4634 OR rgreen@su.edu
  • David McKinney, Librarian for Public Services at 540-665-5444 OR dmckinne@su.edu       
  • Cindy Thomas, Reference Librarian at 540-665-5421 OR cthomas@su.edu 
  • Denise Blake, Health Sciences Librarian at 540-678-4350 OR dblake@su.edu

Databases Dedicated to Sciences

ScienceDirect College Editions - indexes over 2,500 peer-reviewed journals in the sciences, social sciences, medical, and various technical disciplines providing records of approximately 10 million articles.  Additionally chapters from more than 11,000 books are included.  Nearly 500,000 records are added annually, and archives for some titiles date to 1823.  Science Direct is a product of Elsevier.

Agricola -  provides records of books,  articles, conference proceedings, and other holdings of      the National Agricultural Library.  The records are chronologically deep and cover all facets of agriculture and related disciplines including "animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences"

Environment Complete - provides over 2.23 million records from over 2,100 periodicals (fulltext of over 820 titles) dating back to as early as 1888.  Disciplines include "agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more."






 



Multidisciplinary Databases for Finding Articles

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) - brings together a variety of resources from across a broad range of University databases using a familiar and easy to use interface.  A single search allows you to find digital and print books, journal articles, scores, digital music collections (Naxos), images (ARTstor), dissertations and theses, videos, and much more. 

Google Scholar - "provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research."  Shenandoah University Libraries have made our holdings information available to Google, so Scholar  provides links to millions of journal articles paid for by SU 

Academic Search Complete - a  multi-disciplinary full-text database, featuring both scholarly and popular periodicals with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals.  Indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and nearly 12,000 total publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  (remote access requires username and password)

JSTOR  - an archive of scholarly journals providing the fulltext (PDF) of hundreds of  journals from all disciplines.  Coverage extends back decades for many titles, but most have a "moving wall" which blocks access to the most recent articles.  (remote access requires username and password)

Project Muse  - this full-text resource provides access to approximately 45 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics. (remote access requires username and password)

Cambridge University Press - Cambridge University Press Journals Online - this full-text resource provides access to 120 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences (remote access requires username and password)

Oxford University Press Journals Online - this full-text resource provides access to 120 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and mathematics. (remote access requires username and password)

Wilson OmniFile Full-Text, Mega Edition - provides access to indexing and abstracting for approximately 3,500 journals and magazines from the humanities, social sciences, and science and engineering, with fulltext available for about 1,750 titles.  Coverage for some titles begins as early as 1982.  (remote access requires username and password)